We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs

Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs
47 Amuri Avenue, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
03 315 5133
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Pub Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We popped in for a mid week meal - it was a busy Tuesday night, but we were seated immediately. Food was good, service quick and reasonable priced. Would certainly return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    107
    46
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stopped for a beer but could've stayed for more!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were looking for a good beer and weren't disappointed. Their beer selection is excellent and they let us taste some before deciding. Tough decision! We sat outside in a covered patio area. The menu looks great and we'd definitely return to give it a try but if you are a beer lover, definitely make this a stop!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere, not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had dinner and drinks at this hotel. The food was good and as it was our first night in NZ, the drinks were fine as well, but the bill was not cheap compared with similar fare in Australia.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sellach
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Again a big disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We think everybody need a second chance, but the disappointment was much more higher as before.
Two times we tried this restaurant again, BUT!!!!
The starter what we had in visits before was smaller then before. 5 tiny chicken wing pieces (7 before) was on the top from the Salad for only $12. You need a very good imagine to find this skinny piece of salad, you really can't see this part from the Starter. Perhaps this is a new Game "find the Salad" The chicken Wings was over burned.
We stayed also on Monday, this is the day where you can have a huge piece of FAT with mashed Potatoes for only $ 20. You think its cheap for a half kilo Steak, Yes it looks like cheap, but what is with more than the half FAT?
We had seen a lot of tourists they had this "FAT" Steak, and we had seen a lot of plates they goes back in the kitchen with more than the half. WHY WE WRITE THIS?
It's easy to say, we had seen a lot of tourist they really had a fight with the Knife to cut this piece of FAT, and we realized, Locals had this Steak too, BUT perhaps they had a better Knife to cut the really good better looking Meat? Whatever, thats what we realized was showy.
Thats for us a Tourist Trap, the problem you can't find any other restaurant in this touristy Town. Thats why they can do that, it's a shame, but I think the get anytime the bill for that.

We had seen waiters they made jokes with other customers. they perhaps was friends from them, but this makes me not really happy when I have to see, they to feint to spit in the Meal what they them bring. The question comes up, is it perhaps normal in this Kitchen?

One more, the possible Manager is perhaps a younger woman. We think she have to learn to be friendlier. always when we stayed in this Restaurant she looks like 7 days rain.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wont be returning...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to Monteiths for breakfast over the weekend and were very disappointed with the poor service and terrible bland meals! Toast was burnt, meals which were to be with mushrooms did not have any mushrooms (so we had to ask) and they were terrible once we did actually get them! Also had a Gluten/Dairy free friend with us and when we asked where her mushrooms were, they said the mushrooms were precooked in butter (Precooked mushrooms!?!?), so she wouldnt be able to have them as she couldnt have butter... They then brought some out for her 10 mins later and appoligised (these were oil drenched and also terrible). Big breakfast also had no toast, which we had to ask for!
Bad experience and will not be returning. Plenty of other places to dine at in Hanmer!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteiths Brewery Bar Hanmer Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.