We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar

Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar
6 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
03 315 5262
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza & Pasta, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: This Restaurant of ours is always buzzing with tourists, locals, families and groups of friends. We've got big comfy booths, spread out tables and long outside wooden benches for those warm evenings. Relax with a drink or famous cocktail, shoot some pool, or enjoy our restaurant where you may choose from our celebrated gourmet pizzas, unique stonegrill, and classic a-la-carte menu. For those of you with children, please bring them with you as we are absolutely child friendly. Kids can choose from their own menu and colour to their hearts content. We also offer the great taste of Saints through our takeaway service offering not only our gourmet pizzas but our full a-la-carte menu. Come and join us as our team would love to look after you.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went in on a Friday night was greeted straight away, lovely staff, very friendly and helpful. More of a pub atmosphere which we loved! Had a stone grill meal which you cook yourself and it was really nice. Had lovely drinks recommended by the staff, we loved it so much we went back the night after for some drinks and live music.Would recommend to anyone who wants a laidback atmosphere and great staff!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    49
    19
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Wow what a fantastic restaurant! The staff were happy and helpful. Didn't have to wait long before our delicious meals were served. My husband and son had the stone grill. What a juicy tender way to cook, served with a choice of chunky spuds and salad or seasonal veges. My daughter's had the kids menu. One had the Mediterranean salad and the other had the awesome kids platter.I had the spaghetti bolognese which was served with plenty of meat in a delicious sauce with a side of baked bread. Very filling and flavorsome. Drinks were good and plenty of water on the table. My daughter's loved the kids pack. The staff came back to make sure we were happy with our meals. we'll be back again great value for money. And no holiday surcharge. Ever!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

not fussed over stone cooking....you cook your own meal...still pay the same price as if a chef did it. The steak tasted ok, pizzas were good, noise from other families kids was damn annoying, although the waitress did ask them to quieten down. In fact service was fine. veggies were tasteless. Will not return except perhaps for a pizza. rather underwhelmed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum, Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We got takeaway for dinner on our last night while on holiday and were pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the food was very very good (spaghetti was delicious). Only wish we had known about this place earlier, as we would have definitely gone back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Thankyou very much for accomodating the entire family of 20 for an evening reunion, not an easy task to cover the age groups and picky eaters, so well done. The chicken stone grill rocks, I can't wait to come back to have another and to experience a live band night that I hear so much about. It was definitely a night to remember.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.