We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, pity about the smell!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar

Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar
6 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
03 315 5262
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza & Pasta, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: This Restaurant of ours is always buzzing with tourists, locals, families and groups of friends. We've got big comfy booths, spread out tables and long outside wooden benches for those warm evenings. Relax with a drink or famous cocktail, shoot some pool, or enjoy our restaurant where you may choose from our celebrated gourmet pizzas, unique stonegrill, and classic a-la-carte menu. For those of you with children, please bring them with you as we are absolutely child friendly. Kids can choose from their own menu and colour to their hearts content. We also offer the great taste of Saints through our takeaway service offering not only our gourmet pizzas but our full a-la-carte menu. Come and join us as our team would love to look after you.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, pity about the smell!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The first thing that hits you on walking into this place is the smell of stale fat and burnt meat! The only reason we stayed for a drink (forget actually eating there) was the lovely, friendly barmaid!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    24
    27
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had dinner and lunch here. The dinner was awesome and the stonegrill was too! Lunch was also good (waitress could have looked a little more enthuised though).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner and drinks with friends - girls weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had really good pizza at this bar. everything was really good. :) But The Long Island Ice Teas were not very good I have to say, :( Had a good night their in all :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Arrived at 9:25pm and was sat down. We both ordered off the Stonegrill menu and practically as soon as they took our order, the projection screen was pushed back up and the glitterball and disco lights were turned on, the lights were dimmed and the dance music piped up.

We then waited 20 minutes for our meals, which consisted of broccoli, carrots and cauliflower that had been sat boiling since the war, and our meat which of course we had to cook ourselves. The veges were like baby food, but I can't really complain about the cooking of my steak as I had to do it myself!

The wife got her pork wrapped in bacon on the Stonegrill, but how the pork is ever going to cook when it's wrapped in bacon is beyond me. She had to cut it up into bitesize pieces, as if cutting for a 4 year old, so that it would cook.

We had to wait 20 minutes for our order, then another half an hour for it to cook whilst our mushy vegetables went cold. What a truly terrible idea. Never again!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were here for dinner with a very large group. The service was great as was the food. The meals are very large so go easy if you are ordering an entree as you may not leave enough room for dessert. The only negative I would have would be that I was a little concerned with the cleanliness as the floor appeared to be very sticky underfoot which was very off putting. But otherwise a great night out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saints Cafe, Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.