We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return to our favourite holiday destination in the world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodbank Park Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanmer Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodbank Park Cottages
Save
You added Woodbank Park Cottages to your Saves list
381 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Woolgoolga, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A return to our favourite holiday destination in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Last year my wife and I spent a wonderful 2 week holiday here and vowed to return as soon as we could. Not only did we miss the peaceful ambience and luxury accommodation but we also missed the friendship of our hosts Mike and Lizzy, who did so much to make our holiday unforgettable.
This time we stayed for 3 weeks and loved every day of it. Lettie, the Jack Russell accompanied me on all my morning walks in the fir forests, and lay in front of the log fire when she was exhausted ! While my wife was convalescing after a long illness, I was able to indulge my love of Quad biking on trips through the surrounding rivers and mountains, and playing golf at the nearby 18 hole picturesque course.
There are only 2 cottages, both with their own seclusion and a quite perfect place to unwind with a good book, visit the hot springs, or try out the thrill seeking opportunities( jet boating, bungy jumping or quad biking ) for the more adventurous.
For us,this is our perfect holiday destination and we plan to make "our cottage " an annual pilgrimage across the Tasman.
Thank you Mike and Lizzy, you are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Absolute perfect place out in the nature. We loved the fact that this two cottages are a bit off Hanmer Springs and fully surrounded by forest.
When we arrived we got a bowl with fresh strawberries which were just lovely. We enjoyed sitting outside on the veranda with a glass of wine and watching the peaceful sheep enjoying their afternoon snack.
Even it is a cottage made by wood it is very luxurious inside. The kitchen, bathroom everything was just perfect.
It is definitely one of the best hidden spots to spend 2 - 3 nights in absolute harmony with nature but still with a touch of luxus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Modern, spotless cottage in a lovely location. Very thoughtful hosts who look after you but are not imposing at all and respect your privacy. Highly recommended. Loved the dog and cat that visited too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

This was the best place that we stayed during our visit to the South Island. The hosts were very helpful. It is a luxurious little cabin and the photos do not do it justice. I recommend a 2 night stay we wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We found these cottages because everything else was booked full in Hanmer Springs when we arrived, and they weren't. I think this place deserves a lot more visitors and credit! The two cottages themselves are absolutely gorgeous and quite fancy, and smell great because of the cedar wood they're made of. Every little detail in the house was taken care of by the two very friendly owners. They brought us fresh eggs every day, made an extra bed (we were with three in the one-bedroom cottage) without charging any extra, and even provided a picknick basket, games and books, a bag with towels for the Hanmer Springs pools, and several movies for the dvd player. The terrace with great gas-bbq had a beautiful view all day through and lots of sun (see photo for the terrace). We never wanted to leave and booked an extra day (cause it's also not expensive for what you get at all), can recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our time at Woodbank. The cottages were equipped with everything you could need and all the special 'extras' supplied like the eggs, cereal and snack platter were unexpected and a lovely surprise. We'll definitely be back!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hosts Michael and Liz accommodated us in a very short notice, we needed to escape somewhere... to only find out we were exactly at the type of place you always dream of. A delightful cottage with all the amenities you could possibly want and with a view of a pine forest. The fire was on and a storm was coming making the scene a perfectly cozy place; we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodbank Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbank Park Cottages

Address: 381 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodbank Park Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.