We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cottage, beutiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodbank Park Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanmer Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodbank Park Cottages
Save
You added Woodbank Park Cottages to your Saves list
381 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, beutiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a great start of our holiday in this charming cottage. A peaceful place to relax and enjoy the summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

What a wonderful spot - out of the bustle that Hanmer Springs is in the summer, but close enough to be in the village in minutes by car. So quite and peaceful, yet the cottage was so well appointed - like a 5 star hotel. Best bed I've slept on in years (including my own!) - great furnishings.
The little kitchen unit was great - had everything you'd need to do your own cooking - and the utensils, crockery and bits and pieces we not cheap - very nice feel to everything.

I'd highly recommend the cottages for those wanting a break. Liz & Mike are wonderful hosts who think of the little things - so obvious by the little touches around the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

What more could you ask for - the cottage was well presented and comfortable, the hosts were very friendly and obliging and the setting was very peaceful. Molly, the young jack russell dog, is such a character and took a shine to my husband's slightly smelly socks - she thought it was a great game to run off with them!! And she also thought it her duty to visit us just before she went to bed - just checking to make sure everything was ok. On top of that we had lovely fresh raspberries and cream from Mike and Liz's garden and a delicious cheese platter. We would have been happy to stay longer if we had the time. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Beautiful place to stay, only minutes from Hanmer but felt like we were miles away so peaceful. We stay for two nights and if we didn't have to return to work on Monday we would have stayed another night. Incredibly good value and of a much higher standard than other places we have stayed. The Cottages are decorated to a very high standard with everything you could need. The hosts Mike and Liz were friendly and approachable and surprised us with a beautiful platter on our first night. We will be back. Our daughter enjoy playing with Molly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taupo New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Woodbank Park Cottages early in July 2011. We prefer accommodations that are quiet, private, modern and in a rural setting so this was the ideal place for us while visiting Hanmer Springs. The cottages are just minutes from town. Liz and Mike are gracious hosts who respect your privacy but are easy to find if you have questions. The extra touches they provide; for example a cheese platter, breakfast cereal,fruit; are a wonderful bonus to an already delightful stay.

Room Tip: One of the 2 cabins has a better view of the mountains than the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Very enjoyable and relaxing weekend getaway! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the cottage was beautifully furnished and extremely well equipped with everything you could possible need during your stay to make a meal, relax in front of fire with a good book or watch a movie. Setting was gorgeous and nestled just a few minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Hanmer - but also close enough to town to enjoy all the wonderful things to do...hot pools, mountain biking, cafe's etc. Wonderful hosts ensuring you have everything you need including the "eggs" from their own chooks for breakfast. We look forward to returning for our next recharge!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We found Woodbank Cottages to be above and beyond our expectations. We cannot speak more highly of the place! The view was fantastic, the cottages had everything we could possibly need and more. We arrived late on a Wednesday to the fire going in our cottage and a very warm welcome from Mike and puppy Molly. The hosts were very friendly and we even received a lovely cheese platter for afternoon tea from Liz on our last day. Cant wait to go back during summer to experience a warm Hanmer Springs!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodbank Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbank Park Cottages

Address: 381 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodbank Park Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.