We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our last night in NZ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   5 Hanmer Springs Road, corner Bath Street, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
bangkok
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our last night in NZ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our last stay day in NZ, also one of the best and rememerable places visited during this trip, the hotel was clean and nice, with all the accomodation one would ask for. The 2 bed room ensitu unit we had contains all the needed things e.g. kitchen amenties and shower. The heater was nice and modern. Flat screen TV with several sky TV channels. The hotel is also close to Hanmer Hot Springs, of which we spend some good 4-6 hours inside, with double entry as we are Top 10 customers. The host was very friendly and had a great service mind, my parents had a enjoyable conversation with her.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We loved staying here so much that we decided to extend by another night! The hostess was extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed in off peak season so had a fantastic powered site for our van right next to the playground, which is helpful when travelling with a 3 year old. The bathroom was huge and seemed clean (except the gazillion spiders and webs up in the high ceilings - I told myself not to look up!) and the shower stalls were quite large and even had a little stool in them to sit on or put your things on. There was one shower stall which had a bath/shower in it so I was able to give my son an actual bath for the first time on our entire trip. He loved the playground. Older kids can hire the bikes out as well (though seemed a little pricey to me). It was only a 5 or so min walk up the hill into town and to the hot springs (which by the way are awesome). In autumn the holiday park looks lovely with the coloured leaves and fresh air. We would have happily stayed here for longer and will definitely stay there again next time we're in NZ.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We tried to use Top 10 sites wherever we stayed in New Zealand. The standard was always high and the accommodation clean and comfortable. We used self contained cabin units which had bathrooms and limited kitchen facilities sufficient for a breakfast or a takeaway evening meal. Linen, towels and soap were always included. They were also easy to book ahead and would undertake to book local attractions for you. this is a very pleasant site within easy walking distance of the springs and local restaurents.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohoka, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Rang and booked in advance said we would be there at lunch time, got there just before 12 and they said check in wasn't until 1pm. Wasn't told this on the phone but didn't mind to much as we went into the town and had lunch. Came back at 1pm and was told the room still wasn't ready, was really annoying as just wanted to get changed and head to the pools. Then the friend I was with tried to hire a towel and she tried to rip us off by pretending not to know the cost of hire when she clearly owns the place. Another worker told us we could park somewhere which we were then told to move the car by another. Also thought the room was a rip off for $75 a night.
Will not be coming back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 via mobile

Great place nice and clean and quiet. Playground in the middle and go carts for hire. Close to some short bush walks. Close to a maze, 10 min walk to the pools and town. We had motel unit and was very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

despite booking in over the phone and told check in time was 1pm it was 3.30pm before we were able to enter our room as it wasn't cleaned yet, I found the owners to be most unsympathetic to our needs on a cold raining day. to make matters worse, that night i put our left over bacon/yogurt and milk into the fridge so we could use it for breakfast and it all froze solid so i had to chuck it out. wild horses couldnt drag me to stay there again. extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Travelling with a group of motorcycle enthusiasts around the South Island, would highly recommend these facilities.
Stayed in a 2 room suite with shared ensuite. Room was very adequate with Queen size bed in one room and double and single in the second room.
Excellent facilities for a group to use and safe parking of our bikes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 5 Hanmer Springs Road, corner Bath Street, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.