We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Powerhouse Cafe

Powerhouse Cafe
8 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
+64 (03) 315 5252
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Berkeley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Skip it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was touted by our hotel as "the place in town" for dinner. The place is super cute and the service very friendly but the food doesn't cut it. There are way too many ingredients in everything. If they would just pare it down a bit and rely on the good quality of the New Zealand ingredients they could do so much better. We have been in NZ for 11 days and this was the most lack luster meal yet. The bones are there, but they need to work on the end result.. For example the salad was swimming in dressing, the meat over cooked - despite their asking us how we wanted it, the duck was tough and way too cooked. It felt like they were trying too hard.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    90
    25
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Have been several times over last few days. The food is imaginative and excellent, as is their cofi. Wine does not quite match the quality of the food

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The menu for breakfast was slightly different from other cafes and the porridge with Drambuie and rhubarb was to die for ! The French toast was excellent too.The service was very friendly and the atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming. Would highly recommend highly!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So good we ate here twice a day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My hubby and I just spent a very relaxing weekend in Hanmer Springs and by far our favorite find was The Powerhouse Cafe! It was the only cafe in Hanmer that we could find open at 8am for breakfast (everything else opens at 9/9.30) so that was why we chose it the first time round. But then after eating THE BEST French toast ever and experiencing great quick service we returned for lunch a few hours later and then again the following day!

The best thing was being able to sit out in the sun, enjoying the fact that at lunchtime on a Sunday, while the cafe had a nice trickle of patrons in and out, it was not crowded and the food still came out really quick. I made the comment that a cafe this good back in Auckland would be so busy we wouldn't ever get a seat.

An absolute 'must visit' next time you are in Hanmer Springs!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

A very busy place with a wide selection of food and coffees

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powerhouse Cafe also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Powerhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powerhouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.