We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powerhouse Cafe

Powerhouse Cafe
8 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
+64 (03) 315 5252
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The menu for breakfast was slightly different from other cafes and the porridge with Drambuie and rhubarb was to die for ! The French toast was excellent too.The service was very friendly and the atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming. Would highly recommend highly!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    90
    25
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So good we ate here twice a day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My hubby and I just spent a very relaxing weekend in Hanmer Springs and by far our favorite find was The Powerhouse Cafe! It was the only cafe in Hanmer that we could find open at 8am for breakfast (everything else opens at 9/9.30) so that was why we chose it the first time round. But then after eating THE BEST French toast ever and experiencing great quick service we returned for lunch a few hours later and then again the following day!

The best thing was being able to sit out in the sun, enjoying the fact that at lunchtime on a Sunday, while the cafe had a nice trickle of patrons in and out, it was not crowded and the food still came out really quick. I made the comment that a cafe this good back in Auckland would be so busy we wouldn't ever get a seat.

An absolute 'must visit' next time you are in Hanmer Springs!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

A very busy place with a wide selection of food and coffees

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“benchmark for south island quality of fresh, thoughtfully prepared food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I tried this cafe with my partner for dinner on the last night of a two week jaunt through the South Island.

Service: We were quickly attended to upon arrival; waitstaff were friendly and informative with a good understanding of their products.

Food: We ordered a vegetarian platter to share as a starter, for which we were charged NZD$30. This consisted of a generous, very expertly assembled collection of treats including a variety of cheeses (parmesan, camembert, goats cheese, a mature cheddar); grapes both fresh and pickled; fresh strawberries and nuts; dates; dips including quite authentic babaganoush and basil pesto, candied fruits; garlic bread smothered in butter with mustard seeds and parsley as well as a selection of perfectly char-grilled asparagus, zucchini and eggplant. Our main courses were picked from the "light meals" menu and consisted of a lentil burger (amazingly and gravity-defyingly put together) while my partner ordered the chowder which was excellent.

Overall the food was fresh, tastes were thoughtfully combined and portions were generous.

Value: We are accustomed to eating out in Melbourne where there is an excellent standard of cafe and restaurants. The value for money at Powerhouse is far superior compared to the better Melbourne cafes whilst providing food and drink that is fresh, thoughtfully prepared and above all, extremely tasty. Our bill, including a bottle of excellent local pinot noir, came to a total of NZD$90.

We were so impressed that we returned the next day en route to purchase a picnic lunch version of the vegetarian platter for our Jetstar flight home. This also proved to be an amazing creation!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were told that this was THE place to eat in Hanmer. Well, the coffee was OK, cakes average but the real kicker was being charged $5.50 for a smoothie that came out of a bottle! Plus, the host could only moan about how busy they had been and not enough staff were on. Shame really.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powerhouse Cafe also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Powerhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powerhouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.