We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conical Hill

Conical Hill
Hanmer Forest, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A great little forest/hill walk, especially when there is snow up top. The view of the neighbouring snowy mountains is quite pretty. It's a lovely morning walk to be followed by brunch at one of the cafes in town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    59
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A breathtaking view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We decided on a morning walk to the Conical Hill Lookout. Two adults and four children set off at a brisk pace up the hill. The entrance to the walkway is easy to find. The zig zag track up through the forest is wide and smooth. The day we went it was pretty muddy but passable if you walked at the edges of the track on the pine needles with decent shoes on. There are many short cuts for the children to go off the track and explore and appear in front of you happy that they had passed you. There are many hiding places for our two youngest to play 'spies'. The walk is quite steep in places but definitely manageable for all ages. The view from the top is spectacular and the day we went was just after a fresh snowfall so even more stunning. There are plenty of good photo spots at the top. Definitely worth the walk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lovely walk, stunning views from the top of the hill. We combined it with the Majuba and Woodland Park walks, and did the loop in well under 2 hours. The Hanmer forest park was so lovely we we to back to the chalet, made a sandwich, grabbed a bottle of wine and went back for a picnic lunch. Gorgeous!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful walk in the snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

When I visited Hanmer Springs last year, it was sitting under a metre of snow. It made the walk up Conical Hill challenging and breathtaking. The views of the surrounding mountains are spectacular and make for some great panoramic photo's. Its definitely worth the walk, its not too hard, take your time, and if its snowy, be extra careful on the ice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had an hour to 'kill' - hate that phrase - so took a walk up conical hill before checking in to my motel.....well.....you've just got to do it. Then go to the thermal pools to relax.
Achievable walk for all ages. Will get the heart rate up if you're not used to walking up hills - but that's not a bad thing :-)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conical Hill also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Conical Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conical Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.