We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Park in Hanmer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pines Holiday Park

Pines Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanmer Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pines Holiday Park
Save
You added Pines Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   158 Argelins Rd | PO Box 193, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Hanmer Springs, null, New Zealand
1 review
“Best Holiday Park in Hanmer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at Pines holiday park for 5 weeks an absolutly loved it! The owners (Dianne and Norris) are very welcoming and helpful, when we asked other campsites if they do weekly rates we all got turned away with a stern no. But at pines we were welcomed in, we even got a batch of tasty homemade soup one night...YUM YUM! YES They do have 50 cent showers but this is merely to conserve the hot water and making the holiday park economically friendly. The 50 cents gives you plenty of time, and even with paying 50 cents this is the cheapest holiday park you will find within walking distance of Hanmer town centre. The park is very well maintained and spacious and within perfect walking distance to the hot pools and right opposite a fantastic golf course.

We were very sad to leave Pines but we will definatley be back!

A massive thanks to Dianne and Norris for an awesome stay.

John & Shaz from England - Stayed April - June 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Hanmer Springs, walking distance to all the listed attractions.This is not our first visit to The Pines Holiday Park, in fact we have stayed here many times over the last at least 15 years staying originally in the on site caravans then in the well appointed cabins to now in our Motorhome and often bringing our friends with us.,Why do we keep coming back ? We love the peaceful setting, the very large sites, the layout of the grounds but above all the absolute cleanliness of the amenities and the friendliness of Dianne & Norris. They always are interested in how we are without being intrusive. We have no hesitation in recommending The Pines Holiday Park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

What a slice of paradise! Absolutely loved our stay there. The hosts were fantastic, very helpful when we forgot out bedding. Dianne was incredibly nice and so lovely to deal with. Very clean facilities and well kept grounds. Lively quiet spot!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If i could put a 0 i would. the lady Dianne was extremely rude and unprofessional to this lady before us in the office, and then continued to be extremely rude to us. She very over reactive and has no reasoning with you and does not listen to any side of the story just her own. She screams and shouts and swears at customers which is highly unprofessional and RUDE. i do not recommend anyone to go stay there AT ALL. It was such a bad stay and very unhappy about it she even took 100 dollars out of my account for nothing! We didn't damage a thing so she had no right to take it out will be dealing police about this matter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne H, Owner at Pines Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review our park. All our clients sign a form stating excess alcohol use is not permitted, and any expenses incurred will be charged for. Seeing we had to call out Hanmer Security sevices five times during your stay the $100 was part payment towards their fee.
You would be most welcome to call in next time you were in Hanmer to discuss your comments further if you wish. Many thanks. Regards Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We did a 2 night stint in a tent at Pines Holiday park.....was fabulous. This privately run park was clean as a whistle and well maintained. Grounds also well kept and was a delight to stay there. Owners were helpful and informative. We'd stay again and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent five weeks touring the south island of NZ in a camper and stayed for one night at Pine's Holiday park in October 2012. The grounds are beautiful and really well maintained - the powered sites were also spacious and you weren't all piled on top of each other like we experienced in other places! At $36 for one night we found Pine's to be averagely priced but we were a bit disappointed you had to pay extra for showers - this was only 50c but we stayed at other sites that cost less and offered free showers. We also thought BBQ's at $4 was a bit over-the-top! The campsite is close to town though and handy for the hot springs which is the only reason we stopped over in Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This site is very well maintained and conveniently located near the centre of Hanmer Springs.
As others have mentioned, the reception is a little abrupt and technology is not a priority. When we asked if a PC was available, we were told 'a man down the road has a computer!'
Having to pay for the showers is harsh, especially as the machine is unreliable and swallows money!
Also the rugby club is next door and this can get a little noisy in the evening!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pines Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Holiday Park

Address: 158 Argelins Rd | PO Box 193, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Hotel Class:4 star — Pines Holiday Park 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pines Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.