We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very restful and fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosie's

Save Saved
You added Rosie's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosie's
9 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very restful and fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rosie's is a lovely B&B - great location and fantastic hosts Garry Rebekah and Rosie !
After a long drive form Wanaka it was great to be able to park the car & walk everywhere...town was only a few blocks away as was the spa. Garry and Rebekah were great hosts and Rosie greeted us each morning with a wagging tail !
A nice touch was the free towels for use at the spa and the discount card for use at Robbie's restaurant.
We will stay there the next time we visit !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 1 night at Rosie's in their peak season, and were made to feel right at home. The hosts are both lovely, friendly people who were keen to help with advice. The b and b is a 2 minute walk to the hot pools, restaurants, bars and shops. The room itself was clean and tidy, well presented and well appointed (the only small quibble would be to have a TV in the room?). We were very grateful to be upgraded to an ensuite room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Rosies for 1 night during September and had a great stay. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. The room was lovely and clean. We had a double upstairs with an ensuite. The guest lounge was nice and relaxing. The house is close to town and the hot pools. The breakfast was also very good. We would recommend this accomodation to other people as it offers good value for money.
The owners are both nice people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I spent one evening here during our honeymoon trip to New Zealand and could not have been more pleased. The accommodations were lovely and Garry was super friendly and helpful (we never met Rebekah). We loved the convenient location to all that Hanmer Springs had to offer -- in fact, we left our car parked at Rosie's and walked or ran everywhere (there are great running trails in the area!). We hope to make a return trip for our 10th anniversary and will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed at Rosie's for two nights with a friend in their twin room and we had a thoroughly pleasant stay. The owners were friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere as a whole was relaxed and cosy. The bedroom was clean and functional with easy access to the modern and spacious communal bathroom. Great communal lounge area that felt homely and comfortable with a huge TV, lots of DVDs and a good selection of board games. For those who want to get out and about (which I recommend you do in Hanmer Springs) Rosie's is only a couple of minutes from the thermal pools, shops, restaurants and hire companies.
Overall I would definitely recommend Rosie's to anyone that is looking for budget accommodation that feels anything but cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Rosie's for one night got ensuite double with mountain views. Liked the room very clean and tastefully done. No tv in rooms which was great for me as I read my book and relaxed! Big tv in living room if required. Friendly and welcoming hosts and healthy or not -as-healthy breakfast choices. Within walking distance of town -handy. Would recommend Rosie's if looking for reasonably priced home away from home experience. Thanks Rebecca and Grant

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed in Rosies 2 years ago on the recommendation of Lonely Planet. I had a really pleasant and comfortable stay. I returned again to stay in Rosies recently and was pleasantly surprised by some changes to this B&B. New owners Garry and Rebekah where extremely welcoming, relaxed and also fun. The communal area which has a large LCD TV is really comfortable and an absolute pleasure to spend time in. Some of the rooms have been modernised and beautiful new bathroom suites have been put in. Breakfast was awesome. The welcome we received, the cleanliness of the B&B as well as the proximity of this B&B to Hanmer's main attractions, particularly the hot pools, make this the perfect accommodation. I look forward to returning to Rosies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's

Address: 9 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break and get away from the Rat Race for a few days and come put your feet up at Rosie’s.A two storey Swiss style chalet situated in the heart of the Hanmer Springs village. Less than a two minute walk to the famous Thermal Springs. Enjoy all that Hanmer Springs has to offer, a relaxing soak in the hot pools or a sumptuous massage. Enjoy the many walking and biking tracks, a game of golf or a stroll around the village. Dine at one of the many restaurants and cafes that Hanmer has to offer. Choose from one of our many different room options, this also includes a wheelchair suite and a self contained chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rosie's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.