We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanmer Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hanmer Apartments to your Saves list
Hanmer Apartments
4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Westport, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Clean, comfortable, quiet and with great owners - what more could you ask? Highly recommend this property even though it is a little way out of town especially as the owners go out of their way to make you welcome and to give you information on the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
thank you - we are 1.5km form the pools so it is a lovely 15 minute walk or 2 minutes in the car - it really is much more peaceful out of the village so most guests enjoy the quiet unique views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    51
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
185
62
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, New Zealand
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Hanmer Apartments with two of our grandchildren. We found the experience very pleasant and comfortable.

Booking the room was easy online with quick communication and confirmation of our booking. Check in was no hassle, very smooth. Our unit was very clean and tidy, with plenty of space for all of us. We had a separate twin bedroom for the kids plus an upstairs loft bedroom for ourselves. The bed was comfortable and being out of town slightly, very quiet. There was a nice lounge and small dining and kitchenette, plus bathroom. The bathroom was downstairs which at first I thought was going to be an issue, but thoughtfully there are nightlights down the stairs to make going easy in the dark. Thanks!

There was room for us to park the boat out front with no hassles from the management (this is not always the case, we have found many proprietors do their prunes on this point). We found the management to be very easy to deal with, with plenty of information on restaurants and things to do.

All in all the place provided a very nice stay for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
thank you - we do try to keep up with everything going on in the area, so that we can give good advice on how to spend your precious time away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found the apartment lovely. The way it was decorated and the modern up- dated colours was lovely. The crisp white sheets and beds were fantastic, views fantastic, it was clean and spacious and had everything you needed..We liked the extras such as DVDs and bikes if needed. It was a great place to stay, very well priced and we will be choosing it again for our next stay plus be telling our friends about it. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Great experience!
Thank You!
Jayne and Andrew Watt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
thankd for your kind words - we do try hard to give excellent service, which we can achieve as we only have 4 units to lok after - boutique!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After staying in town on Saturday night we found this place to stay to get a bit of peace and quiet. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. It had two rooms with very comfortable beds. The upstair bedroom had windows to view the stars. The private garden outside was beautiful and nice spot for a wine. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we borrowed free bikes to ride into town and around town which was absolutely fantastic. As the apartments sit just out of town it was peaceful and restful. Pity we only stayed one night but we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
thank you for your kind comments - we get many guests remake about the peace and quiet being 1.5km away from hustle of village (especially weekends and school holidays) where it is just a lovely 15 minute walk into village. Yes our free bike hire (road use only) is much appreciated as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

On our arrival the host (Shane) was very helpful. Accommodation was new, clean and comfortable. Only a 2 minute drive to centre of town which was nice as there was no noise. They charge extra for daily servicing, but empty the bins and provide clean linen each day irrespective. Only disappointment was we were travelling light and were using the bath/shower gel provided but this wasn't replaced the second morning. May have just been an oversight. But overall very good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments - just to clarify, we clean out rubbish bins, restock coffee and tea tray, replace dish cloth and tea towel and provide new bathroom towels daily - at no charge - however if a guest wants a "full service" i.e. vacuum, hygienically clean bathroom & restock, replace bed linen etc then a charge of $25 is made to cover the 2 hours work involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our 2-level apartment as shown on the internet, with a single-level unit for disabled visitors, was even better in reality...great outdoors sitting and kids' playing area for each of the four units. A couple of minutes' drive to the main street in town for supplies, and the obligatory dip in the hot pools, could also be a pleasant walk for those so inclined. The apartment is spotless and has nearly all the basic kitchen requirements for most people...and the comfy 2-seater lounges and beds that are natural sleep-makers add to the feeling of home...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
thanks for the informative review - everyone staying here says they get a great nights sleep due to comfy beds and peace and quiet, away from noise of village, which is still just a pleasant walk away
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merimbula
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We loved your apartments and had a wonderful three days in this beautiful part of the country. Snow capped mountains and divine thermal pools to relax in, beautiful forest walks, and top class restaurants - what more could one want? Would recommend anyone to stay at Hanmer Apartments. A must when visiting NZ's south island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
thank you for your review - yes alot of guests tell us that 1 night is not enough here as Hanmer has become a destination rather than a pass through/stop off. 2 nights minimum is required to fully appreciate what the Hanmer village and surrounds has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanmer Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Apartments

Address: 4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four exclusive brand new (4+ star) self contained 2 bedroom apartments. FREE WIFI, FREE bike hire, FREE towels for pools, FREE DVD hire, FREE shuttle into town (1.5km away) in evenings. Inclusive of heat pump / air conditioning, electric blankets, SKY TV & Freeview, queen & king / twin beds, fully equipped kitchenette with benchtop oven, electric frypan, microwave oven, kettle & toaster. Patio with BBQ facilities and magnificent alpine views. Boutique, without the price tag. Relax and unwind in our spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hanmer Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanmer Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.