We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amy and Shane know their stuff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanmer Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hanmer Apartments to your Saves list
Hanmer Apartments
4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amy and Shane know their stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was a great experience. Free shuttle service to the restaurants in town. Amy and Shane know all about ALL the local attractions and especially the restaurants. Great views to the surrounding mountains. Clean and spacious. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: They have one room with excellent wheel chair access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
thank you - yes we know which restaurants to advise on based on your needs! happy to book activities from our office as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    51
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
185
62
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bed apartment (2 adults and 2 small kids) for a couple of nights. Everything we needed was here, including a cot for the youngster, which Shane set up for us with no fuss. When we had a puncture and needed help, we were immediately offered a ride to the garage with the tyre, and a return trip to collect it, along with a shuttle to the hot springs and a ride home later on. The free DVD service was appreciated by both kids and adults. The apartment was warm and clean, with modern fixtures and tasteful decor. Combine all of that with a peaceful environment and excellent value for money, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Glad to hear you will come back - we strive to give excellent service - thanks for thr review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

In late Augustt 2012 we spent a night at the Hanmer Appartments. The service was fantastic, with the owner (Shane) more than happy to provide his insight into the best attractions not only in Hanmer, but all over the South Island for the next leg of our trip.

The Appartments are well furnished, very reasonably priced, and with lots of great extras included (bikes, DVDs, free wifi).

Would definitely recommend to anyone who stops through Hanmer, and would stay again if I get the chance! Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
thanks for the kind words - we try to inform guests of the best use of time while on holiday, life is too short otherwise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a great place to stay. Service was excellent, apartment beautiful and modern with a picturesque outlook. A perfect family retreat for us, very peaceful. Loved that it was just out of town - felt like we were truly away but still close. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
thank you - repeat visitors get a bottle of wine - so come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My son and I stayed here for one night and really liked it. Warm, comfortable quiet and all the modern conveniences that travellers need. It really isn't that far from the village and on a pleasant day the walk would be lovely and riding around on the bikes would be a great way to see more of Hanmer.

Room Tip: Early morning light streaming in through lounge area skylight might wake some people if sleeping in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
glad to hear you enjoyed the stay - yes we are 1.5km from village but it is so much quieter out here than in village - especially on weekends! Yes we do have road bikes to use to get in there as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

What can i say?

Apartment lovely, modern, warm. Service lovely modern and warm!

Good value for the high standard.

You would ideally need a car to get into town (2 min drive) but they do offer a shuttle service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
thank you for the kind words - yes people often comment about our value for money as we keep our prices affordable for either families or simply just a couple! the walk into village is lovely and gives a different perspective of the alpine views that you do not get right in the village - we love it being outside the village as it is much quieter and peaceful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our two bedroomed unit was the perfect retreat for myself and my sister. We had escaped our families for a 'do nothing' midweek excursion and really appreciated the free DVD hire. It was so peaceful and quiet, perfect for lazing around.
We look forward to our next break away.

Room Tip: Mezzanine floor room is best if you are last to bed due to TV sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer_Apartments, Owner at Hanmer Apartments, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
thanks - yes we have unlimited DVD hire for those movie marathons some people enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanmer Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Apartments

Address: 4 Woodbank Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four exclusive brand new (4+ star) self contained 2 bedroom apartments. FREE WIFI, FREE bike hire, FREE towels for pools, FREE DVD hire, FREE shuttle into town (1.5km away) in evenings. Inclusive of heat pump / air conditioning, electric blankets, SKY TV & Freeview, queen & king / twin beds, fully equipped kitchenette with benchtop oven, electric frypan, microwave oven, kettle & toaster. Patio with BBQ facilities and magnificent alpine views. Boutique, without the price tag. Relax and unwind in our spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hanmer Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanmer Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.