We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service A+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Garden Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Garden Motel to your Saves list
Alpine Garden Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I loved the feel of this motel. It may not have been the newest but it is well loved with immaculate grounds, first class service for the owners, excellent location for pools, top restaurant, views and area to sit outside each unit enhancing a sense of privacy. To have a supply of towels and bath mats to take over to the pools is as added extra for travellers - very handy thanks. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amberley, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

One of the best motels we have stayed in for cleanliness and friendliness of staff. We spent two nights there over New Year with friends and had a wonderful time.The owners were very accommodating re our needs and we can't rate the service and state of the motel unit high enough!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had the end unit so was lovely and quiet. The unit was spotless and the spa bath lovely. We really enjoyed out stay there and would go back again. Beautiful gardens and very well maintained. Nice to have towels available for pools and DVD's too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in December and it was nice. The room was spacious and clean although there was a spider that seemed to work overtime in the shower and bathroom area. (I didn't bother it and it didn't bother me.) The kitchen was great and I appreciated all of the cooking amenities. The sitting area was alright, not so much lounge-y as functional. I would have given 5 stars but I feel like the bathroom needs updating and the floors tended to creak quite a bit. The sink had separate faucets for hot and cold water - not that convenient, and the shower didn't have strong water pressure. What was nice was the bench outside the door and the amazing view of the Hanmer mountains.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on 15 november 2012. It has a great location, a 5 minute walk to the shops, restaurants and thermal pools, and the rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped and the bed was comfortable. The hosts are pleasant and helpful, there are towels for guests to use at the thermal pools which saves paying to hire them there, and there are lots of dvds at reception you can watch in your room. I could have stayed here longer to explore the area and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit last week. There was plenty of room for the 3 of us. Small kitchen a plus. Plenty of hot water and comfy beds. Our host was very knowledgable and friendly as was the hotel cat. I didn't realize how pretty Hanmer Springs was, I will come back for a longer look next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the alpine garden motel for one night. I had been there before and really liked it. The nosts are friendly and remembered me from my last trip (about a year ago). The beds are warm and comfortable, lots of hot water, and many nice touches, eg. ground coffee and a plunger, DVDs available to watch, and a resident fluffy cat to greet you on the porch. Easy to find, good parking and a few minutes from the thermal pools. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Garden Motel

Address: 3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Garden Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mark and Janice welcome you. Whether you are passing through or spending time in the Village and surrounds we want your stay with us to be and refreshing. All of our units are spacious, each with a sunny veranda, spectacular views over the Hanmer Basin and out to the mountains. Only a 5 minute stroll to all that the Village has on offer - the Thermal Pools, cafes and great restaurants. We are a Qualmark rated 4 star motel and our nine modern units offer accommodation options for most travelers needs - comprising of 4 one bedroom, 2 two bedroom family units and 3 studio spa bath units, all of which are serviced daily. We have free Wi-Fi and free towels for use at the thermal pools. A complimentary paper is delivered Monday-Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Garden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.