We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Garden Motel

Save Saved
You added Alpine Garden Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpine Garden Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Hanmer Springs
Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on 15 november 2012. It has a great location, a 5 minute walk to the shops, restaurants and thermal pools, and the rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped and the bed was comfortable. The hosts are pleasant and helpful, there are towels for guests to use at the thermal pools which saves paying to hire them there, and there are lots of dvds at reception you can watch in your room. I could have stayed here longer to explore the area and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit last week. There was plenty of room for the 3 of us. Small kitchen a plus. Plenty of hot water and comfy beds. Our host was very knowledgable and friendly as was the hotel cat. I didn't realize how pretty Hanmer Springs was, I will come back for a longer look next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the alpine garden motel for one night. I had been there before and really liked it. The nosts are friendly and remembered me from my last trip (about a year ago). The beds are warm and comfortable, lots of hot water, and many nice touches, eg. ground coffee and a plunger, DVDs available to watch, and a resident fluffy cat to greet you on the porch. Easy to find, good parking and a few minutes from the thermal pools. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived in Hanmer tired, seeking reasonably priced accommodation. We eventually found Alpine Garden Motel and were warmly welcomed by hosts Mark & Janice who provided us with a delightful well appointed unit with all the comforts that one could wish for and so handy to the village centre. Our unit was fresh, clean and comfortable and absolutely likewise for the bed, together with a wide flat screen digital TV ( you need a good TV especially in Hanmer because radio reception is almost nil). In addition there is an enormous range of free DVD's available.
Computer WiFi is also available as are towels should you wish to visit the hot pools. Also some units have a private 2 person spa room too.
An additional delight to round off our stay was to admire the stunning snow capped mountain views as we enjoyed breakfast. We thoroughly recommend this place at one of Canterbury's most unique holiday destinations. Mark & Janice are delightful hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The motel management is very approachable and always pleasant. The room was clean and well appointed. The bed and shower are great. Newish large screen Digital Flat screen TV. Within throwing distance of the main town centre and the thermal pools. Towels available for use at the pools and free wifi. The premises are situated in a side street just off the main road which seems only busy on Friday through to Sunday. Saying that, once in side your room you can't here any traffic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne-Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Clean, and close up to hot springs (3 minute walk ), free wifi and free towels for hot springs. good book exchange at reception, friendly owners

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Easy to find just off the main road through Hanmer. Parking was right outside the rooms. The kitchen area was very well-equipped. Very comfortable bed and good shower. Also, towels were supplied for our use at the Hot Pools, which were within easy walking distance and have recently been redesigned. We really enjoyed our 3 nights here. It's a really nice setting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Garden Motel

Address: 3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Garden Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mark and Janice welcome you. Whether you are passing through or spending time in the Village and surrounds we want your stay with us to be and refreshing. All of our units are spacious, each with a sunny veranda, spectacular views over the Hanmer Basin and out to the mountains. Only a 5 minute stroll to all that the Village has on offer - the Thermal Pools, cafes and great restaurants. We are a Qualmark rated 4 star motel and our nine modern units offer accommodation options for most travelers needs - comprising of 4 one bedroom, 2 two bedroom family units and 3 studio spa bath units, all of which are serviced daily. We have free Wi-Fi and free towels for use at the thermal pools. A complimentary paper is delivered Monday-Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Garden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.