We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rippinvale Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rippinvale Retreat to your Saves list
Rippinvale Retreat
68 Rippingale Rd, Hanmer Springs 7338, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Kalannie
1 review
“A luxurious getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our night at this gorgeous retreat. So peaceful, beautiful and a bonus of being walking distance to town. Every aspect of Rippinvale Retreat was perfect, the room itself was lovely, immaculately clean and it had the most comfortable bed in NZ! Fabulous massage, champagne and delicous nibbles in the incredible garden, tennis in the morning on the grass court, then to finish - the most amazing breakfast! We felt really spoilt and if we could afford it we would most definitely have stayed longer. Helen and John are great hosts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
107
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

We had a great time here. The hosts take very good care of tror guests. The breakfasts are scrumptious!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

amazing stay, silent, silent night, so peacefull, great spa and yes that breakfast was top notch.
Thx to John for showing us the local fishing spots - all in all a great sucess.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Thanks John and Helen for a memorable stay. It was our honeymoon. It was a great place to stay. We appreciated the service and hospitality. Have to make a special mention about the breakfast - i don't think anyone who has left a comment in the visitors book over the last couple of years has not mentioned the breakfast. We loved it -so much so that we left a few kilos heavier! Would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My sister and myself save up every week, and once every 3-4months we have a weekend away. This time we choose to go to Hamner Springs. I looked at many different accommodation offers, but loved the look of this retreat. Rippinvale was about an $100 more than staying in one of the regular motels/hotels, but it was soooooo worth it. The service was incredible and we got truly spoilt. Upon ariving there was a carafe of port and some beautiful chocolate cake waiting for us. The place was very clean and tidy, and the lovely french courtyard outside made it a pleasure to enjoy our port and cake. Helen, was a lovely person and made us really feel welcome. At 6pm we were treated to some pita bread and a wonderful creamy dip, which filled us up enough that we didnt even go out for dinner, opting to enjoy a nice relaxing spa on the property instead. Afterwards we enjoyed watching an dvd from their dvd library, but forgot to order our complimentary popcorn as time just got away from us, sitting relaxing in the spa.
The following morning we were treated to an amazing breakfast, which was all homemade and tasted incredible. I have to say I was very surprised, when after filling up on croisants, freshly made bread, creamy porridge, to be asked if we were ready for our cooked breakfast. Even though we were already very full we couldnt miss this opportunity and enjoyed some lovely hotcakes with bananas and bacon.
An amazing stay, and thinking about cancelling our Auckland trip in February to come here again!

Room Tip: There are two rooms available, each have their own little courtyard, so I dont think it makes any di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Our second stay at Rippinvale and as expected we were spoilt rotten by Helen and John just as we were on our first visit. We turned up a few hours early on the first day but Helen made us welcome and we then headed off to spend the rest of the day in the hot pools. We got back and found two glasses of wine and some very tasty snacks waiting for us.....a perfect way to end the day. Lilly the cat was also there to welcome us and spent much of the evening with us snoozing on the foot rest in front of the TV.....made us really feel at home!

Breakfast the next day was one of Helen's culinary works of art. We couldnt quite manage to get through the crepes so packed them in a lunch box to take with us on a walk through the State Forest Park. The crepes tasted even better after an hour long slog up the Waterfall Track.

On the last night the temperature dropped and while we soaked in the spa bath in the grounds it started snowing....absolutely magic. Later on that night it snowed some more and the next morning The Amuri Range was coated in snow....a beautiful sight

We stayed two nights but it wasn't long enough.....could have stayed at least another week.

Thanks for another first class stay Helen and John, we'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern highlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Ever wanted a home away from home but with a five rating, then visit Helen and John. So welcoming and informative of the local terrain. Helens culinary skills are amazing, breakfast and canapes were amazing. The house and grounds are a testimont to the hard work the pair of them have put in over the years. Lounging in the outdoor spa at night with snow on the mountain tops, the stars in the sky and champagne in hand, amazing! Hamner Spings itself is only a 10 minute stroll, great way to help ease the waistband after a lovley dinner. Our only disapointment was that we did not stay longer. Well worth the travel over the ditch from Aus. Will definately visit again the next time we visit NZ. Thanks for the wonderful time we had.

Room Tip: The quality of the rooms and the service will be the same. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rippinvale Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippinvale Retreat

Address: 68 Rippingale Rd, Hanmer Springs 7338, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special New Zealand experience, offering fine boutique accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere. Our suites are private and semi contained set in a private courtyard. Tariff includes pre dinner wine and canapes,fabulous gourmet breakfast of the finest locally grown ans seasonal produce and full evening turn down with Port and chocolates.Use of all facillities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rippinvale Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rippinvale Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.