We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rippinvale Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rippinvale Retreat to your Saves list
Rippinvale Retreat
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   68 Rippingale Rd, Hanmer Springs 7338, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canterbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My sister and myself save up every week, and once every 3-4months we have a weekend away. This time we choose to go to Hamner Springs. I looked at many different accommodation offers, but loved the look of this retreat. Rippinvale was about an $100 more than staying in one of the regular motels/hotels, but it was soooooo worth it. The service was incredible and we got truly spoilt. Upon ariving there was a carafe of port and some beautiful chocolate cake waiting for us. The place was very clean and tidy, and the lovely french courtyard outside made it a pleasure to enjoy our port and cake. Helen, was a lovely person and made us really feel welcome. At 6pm we were treated to some pita bread and a wonderful creamy dip, which filled us up enough that we didnt even go out for dinner, opting to enjoy a nice relaxing spa on the property instead. Afterwards we enjoyed watching an dvd from their dvd library, but forgot to order our complimentary popcorn as time just got away from us, sitting relaxing in the spa.
The following morning we were treated to an amazing breakfast, which was all homemade and tasted incredible. I have to say I was very surprised, when after filling up on croisants, freshly made bread, creamy porridge, to be asked if we were ready for our cooked breakfast. Even though we were already very full we couldnt miss this opportunity and enjoyed some lovely hotcakes with bananas and bacon.
An amazing stay, and thinking about cancelling our Auckland trip in February to come here again!

Room Tip: There are two rooms available, each have their own little courtyard, so I dont think it makes any di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
121
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Our second stay at Rippinvale and as expected we were spoilt rotten by Helen and John just as we were on our first visit. We turned up a few hours early on the first day but Helen made us welcome and we then headed off to spend the rest of the day in the hot pools. We got back and found two glasses of wine and some very tasty snacks waiting for us.....a perfect way to end the day. Lilly the cat was also there to welcome us and spent much of the evening with us snoozing on the foot rest in front of the TV.....made us really feel at home!

Breakfast the next day was one of Helen's culinary works of art. We couldnt quite manage to get through the crepes so packed them in a lunch box to take with us on a walk through the State Forest Park. The crepes tasted even better after an hour long slog up the Waterfall Track.

On the last night the temperature dropped and while we soaked in the spa bath in the grounds it started snowing....absolutely magic. Later on that night it snowed some more and the next morning The Amuri Range was coated in snow....a beautiful sight

We stayed two nights but it wasn't long enough.....could have stayed at least another week.

Thanks for another first class stay Helen and John, we'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern highlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Ever wanted a home away from home but with a five rating, then visit Helen and John. So welcoming and informative of the local terrain. Helens culinary skills are amazing, breakfast and canapes were amazing. The house and grounds are a testimont to the hard work the pair of them have put in over the years. Lounging in the outdoor spa at night with snow on the mountain tops, the stars in the sky and champagne in hand, amazing! Hamner Spings itself is only a 10 minute stroll, great way to help ease the waistband after a lovley dinner. Our only disapointment was that we did not stay longer. Well worth the travel over the ditch from Aus. Will definately visit again the next time we visit NZ. Thanks for the wonderful time we had.

Room Tip: The quality of the rooms and the service will be the same. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Went there for partners 40th birthday treat. Very warm welcome by the hosts Helen and John. Had a glass of wine and some nibbles brought to us before a nice dinner that was booked by Helen at a local restaurant, which was also very nice. Then went back to the open spa for some relaxing time. Had a lovely sleep. Next morning a home cooked breakfast that rivals the best restaurants anywhere. So much beautiful food. The hosts made us very welcome and would stay there again. Thanks Helen and John. From Karen and Craig

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yallingup
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Rippinvale was the highlight of our trip to Hanmer. It epitomises everything that a perfect B&B should be - wonderfully warm and hospitable hosts, truly magnificent breakfasts which would be more than a match for any fine dining restaurant anywhere in the world and a divinely comfortable bed. All this topped off in the evening with delicious canapes and the best mulled wine we have ever tasted. Thank you Helen and John for a wonderful treat and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I was in NZ for work for a considerable amount of time and my partner from aussie could only come and visit for a few days, I couldnt think of anywhere better we could of spent our few days together, John and Helen just looked after us like long lost children, and we felt completly at home, I dont want to ruin it for anyone going to stay there but all the little touches that they provide just make you feel completely spoiled. Can recomend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area, and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is our 4th trip to Rippinvale and we just love it! Have rebooked to go again.
Helen and John are fabulous hosts and Helen's breakfasts are to die for.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rippinvale Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippinvale Retreat

Address: 68 Rippingale Rd, Hanmer Springs 7338, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rippinvale Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special New Zealand experience, offering fine boutique accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere. Our suites are private and semi contained set in a private courtyard. Tariff includes pre dinner wine and canapes,fabulous gourmet breakfast of the finest locally grown ans seasonal produce and full evening turn down with Port and chocolates.Use of all facillities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rippinvale Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rippinvale Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.