We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chalet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chalets Motel to your Saves list
Chalets Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great Chalet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Check in was quick and chalet was clean and nice. View from around the chalet was great. Could view the mountains from afar changing colours during evening while preparing meals at the kitchen. What a luxury! This was really a home away from home.

Enjoyed ourselves very much spending time indoor and outdoor at the chalet ground. Indeed a place not to be missed when visiting Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi TJ, Thanks heaps for your great review ~ we do strive to make our Chalets a 'Home away from Home', so we are very glad you agree! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in our beautiful country. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    37
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
131
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We went to unwind after a fairly hectic week at work. The chalet was clean and well maintained. The towels are changed every two days and the rooms serviced every four which suits me fine. All the basics were there and there were signs around saying they would be happy to assist if you needed more. There is wifi but there is a charge for this. There is a laundry on site if needed and for two dollars you can rent towels to take to the thermal springs which are a short walk away.
We had a really peaceful weekend. The views are great and the sound of birdsong was really soothing. The hosts are very friendly. I'd love to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in chalet 9 which was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for your great review and for providing some good information on The Chalets Motel.
We very much appreciate you taking the time to do it for us, and yes we also would love you to come back sometime! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Awesome stay at the spa chalet in Hamner Springs Chalets Motel, will visit again and would'nt stay anywhere else. Great location, just a five minute walk to the main street. Very private, chalets are some distance from each other. Execellent service, very friendly hosts that would make sure our stay was as good as they could make it. Chalet was in great condition and very clean, will be back next year.

Room Tip: Spa chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
A big thankyou Anthony for your awesome review of our Spa Chalet! We do appreciate you taking the time to do this for us. We are rapt you had such a good time here with us ~ hope your working holiday is going extra well =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was the second time I stayed at The Chalets Motel in Hanmer Springs. Walking into our chalet was like coming home. So relaxed and comfy. Everything we needed was on hand and that's quite an accomplishment as there was me, Great Grandma, my Granddaughter and Great Granddaughter to accommodate. Next time I went back with my husband and another couple. Separate rooms, lounge and great kitchen, also within a walk to the hot pools; what more could you want. Good prices to. Go on. Try it out. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thanks Noeleen for that awesome review of your stay at The Chalets, and thanks heaps for taking timeout to do it for us. We really appreciate it, and look forward to your next visit! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay in Hanmer with lovely, clean and homey chalets. The hosts are very friendly and you are left to peace and quite! We have stayed here twice and will not look at any other accommodation while in Hanmer! Truely a top notch and we run establishment!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and provide you with a peacefull stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Wow! Thanks for that wonderful review ~ we do appreciate you taking the time to put it on Trip Advisor for us. Rapt you like the chalets so much! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Chalets Motel. It was peaceful and very comfortable. Easy to find and just 10 mins walk from the centre. Pat and Jock are great hosts and are very welcoming. (Thank Jock for helping us change our wheel when we got a puncture). Would defintely go back if in that area again.

Room Tip: If there is only two of you chalet no 2 has great views all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
So glad you both enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks heaps for the great review, it's very much appreciated. Hope you had a good trip home to the UK and the winter isn't going to be too harsh up there. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night of a road trip across the South Island. 2 bedroom chalet, plenty of room for all 4 of us and about a 10 minute walk into town.

The service provided was great, and the Chalet was clean and functional. There is WiFi access for $5 per chalet, and also DVD's you can borrow from reception!

The Chalet was heated, which was great on the chilly night we stayed. The beds were soft, so be prepared if you like them hard, and there is plenty of extra bedding available.

Highly reccomended, would definately stay here as a base and road trip out north, west, and south to sightsee.

Room Tip: There is a rather steep driveway/path, so be aware if you are mobility impaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We really appreciate your great constructive review of our motel, thanks heaps for taking the time to do it for us. Hope you enjoyed your travels in New Zealand and that you will be back some day. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalets Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.