We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chalets Motel to your Saves list
Chalets Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
new mexico
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This an absolutely lovely, quiet, clean accommodation. We were fortunate enough to stay one night and found it totally as advertised. The owners were so helpful in directing us to another motel for our second night. I would recommend this motel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your great review. We do appreciate everyone who takes the time to post a review for us on Trip Advisor. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to us at The Chalets in lovely Hanmer Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
121
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We only booked for one night but would definitely have stayed longer if we had the time. Hope to go back again and spend longer next time. The information pack in the room was really helpful, the place was really tidy and clean and we had a great view from our chalet.

Will definitely be recommending this place to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Your great review is much appreciated! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and yes it would be good if you can come back soon and enjoy a relaxing break with us at The Chalets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We enjoyed a 2 night stay while touring. The accomodation was a little dated, but clean and comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen. The chalets are individually laid out on an undulating site in an alpine garden setting giving privacy and a lovely feel to the place. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and clearly spends a lot of time adding to the native plantings around the site. It was a great pleasure to stay and we look forward to returning for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks Peter & Judith for your very positive review of The Chalets. Yes, Jock enjoys nuturing the seedlings and seeing them become beautiful NZ native trees and shrubs. Yes, we do consider ourselves very fortunate to live in this 'lovely alpine retreat' and share it with our guests. Hope you can make it down to Hanmer Springs again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Hanmer Springs. Only wished we had been able to stay longer. The location was just amazing - so peaceful with that wonderful mountain air and spectacular views. Accommodation spacious and clean but the most memorable thing about this stay was the superb hospitality received from Pat and Jock . They simply could not do enough for you . We will certainly recommend to friends and hope to return ourselves some day

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay ~ thanks heaps for your great review. Hopefully you will be able to make it back to us in lovely Hanmer Springs before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We loved our stay in the Chalets. WE had two nights in Hanmer which was well worth it. The accomodation we had was 2 bedroom with amazing cooking facilites, very clean with free parking and use of DVD's. You are offered milk on arrival which was a lovely touch, and great selection of DVD's for those rainy days. The owner is so friendly and offeres great advice on what to do and where to go. The views are spectacular and it's so quiet and tranquil here - I fully recommend this place and worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thanks a lot for your great review of our motel!! We very much appreciate you taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, and hope you can come back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

Amazing hospitality, clean rooms and the best view of our trip so far in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thanks heaps Matt for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate you posting that great pic of an early morning view from No. 8!
Guess you will be getting to the end of your trip ~ hope you and your friends had a great time here in beautiful N.Z. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our second stay in Chalet 2 (1 bedroom with shower) and just as good as last year but this time we stayed for a week.

Very quiet, spacious enough for 2 to be comfortable and well equipped. An easy walk to the thermal pools and restaurants.

A relaxing place to be and this is a really nice place to stay with attentive hosts who nevertheless do not intrude.

Next year's trip to NZ is already being planned and includes a week in Chalet 2.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you Jim & Fran for your great review ~ we really appreciate you taking the time to do it, and we look forward to seeing you again next year! Best Regards, PAT & JOCK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Pat & Jock Johnston, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained chalets. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Luxury one bedroom spa Chalet, with double corner spa bath. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children’s playground. LCD TVs with 40+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Wireless Broadband & Free DVDs. Easy 600m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalets Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.