We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris and Lisa were fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amuri Estate Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amuri Estate Retreat to your Saves list
Amuri Estate Retreat
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2 / 128 Medway Road | PO Box 143, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chris and Lisa were fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Highly recommend staying here if you are staying near/in Hanmer. Located in a quiet location just east of town with great vistas of the valley and mountains this B&B did not disappoint! Chris and Lisa were attentive and generous to our needs and breakfast was great. Best hosts and breakfast of our four B&B trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the cabin at Amuri Estate over Christmas and found the whole experience to be perfect. The estate and views are wonderful: Close enough to downtown Hanmer Springs to easily drive into town for dinner, a mountain bike ride, or a dip in the hot springs yet far enough away to escape reality and allow your mind to drift. Chris and Lisa are gracious, welcoming and helpful hosts and we left knowing that we had made two great new friends!

Room Tip: The cabin is perfect for two people and especially recommended during the warm season as you can com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Amuri for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend and it was an absolutely perfect getaway. We had a tranquil cabin in the olive groves, with a superb view of Hanmer Springs. Lisa and Chris were wonderful hosts, always ready with advice and help. I can't recommend here enough.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Three years ago we booked a Taste of Italy session with Chris and Lisa as part of a girls reunion weekend - it was such an amazing experience that we had to do it again this year when we returned to Hanmer Springs. I dont know how but it was even better this time! The views and property are amazing, the olive oil sesnsational, the food to die for and the wine was superb. Chris and Lisa are the most accomodating hosts - it almost feels like you are visiting old friends. It doesnt get better than this and we'll be back again in another three years time (if we can wait that long!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the first two nights of our honeymoon and the accomodations were absolutely wonderful! The location provided great privacy but was close enough to Hanmer Springs to make a convenient trip to dinner or the springs. Lisa was a great host and couldn't have been more friendly! loved the stay!

Byron and Jacki

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay. The retreat with its views and welcoming atmosphere was a healing place and we came away feeling extremely well rested and relaxed. Lisa was an amazing host, friendly and inviting. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteCanterbury, Owner at Amuri Estate Retreat, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments Caley. It was wonderful to have you & your daughter stay & I'm so happy that you both had some time to rest & restore yourselves. We hope to see you here again sometime. All the best to you, Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My partner and I had a perfect relaxing break at Amuri Estate Retreat - from our initial enthusiastic welcome by Uno & Charlie (the dogs), followed by a friendly greeting from Lisa & Chris, who were warm and welcoming despite having just concluded a hard day's olive picking.
We stayed in the Wallace Peak cottage - a bit separate from the main house and guest rooms, which was just perfect for a pair of introverts. We enjoyed our stay so much, we extended it by an extra night!

Room Tip: Stay in Wallace Peak cottage if you want a bit of extra space & privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amuri Estate Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amuri Estate Retreat

Address: 2 / 128 Medway Road | PO Box 143, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amuri Estate Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rural retreat takes in 360° of outstanding landscape. Revel in the panoramic views of majestic mountains, and the braided Waiau River. A luxury boutique accommodation overlooking the beautiful high alpine basin at the foot of the Southern Alps. The park-like grounds include an olive grove, small fruit and nut orchard, vegetable and flower gardens. We use our organic extra virgin olive oil, fruit and vegetables from our gardens in the guest accommodation and for breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amuri Estate Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amuri Estate Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.