We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B and B - amazing hospitality - everything perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marchmont Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marchmont Gardens to your Saves list
Marchmont Gardens
123 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hotel website $10 off
Ranked #1 of 16 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Fabulous B and B - amazing hospitality - everything perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We just came back from two nights at Marchmont, staying with friends who were traveling from Chicago. I can't imagine anything Bindy could do to make this B and B better! Her attention to detail is just amazing. The rooms are lovely with high quality furnishings, comfortable beds with sheets with a clearly high thread count and everything you would need. Bindy's Kiwi breakfast is amazing, and other touches like leaving a homemade cookie (delicious) during her turn down service in the evening, are so thoughtful! It is nice to be a bit off the beaten track in Hanmer although no worries - it's a 13 minute walk across a nice path to get to town, and of course you can always drive if you'd rather. The gardens around this B and B are just exquisite. We've stayed in a lot of B and B's in NZ and this is absolutely top notch!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
115
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Thanks Bindy for a wonderful stay at your place in Hamner Springs we really enjoyed the beautiful private accommodation and the wonderful service you provided.

Would recommend to others.

Thanks Helen and David

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
I am so sorry you did not sleep well , we get wonderful fedback about how comfortable the beds are so I hope it was just one of those sleepless nights we all get.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We have been fortunate to travel extensively over the years and have stayed in many 5 star establishments but our stay here still took our breath away! The views of the mountains gardens were a starter to the immaculate interior of our suite and attention to the minutest detail.The hospitality and professionalism shown by Bindy and Peter will be etched in our memory thank you both Lynn and Margaret Jones

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Iwas lovely having you to stay with us ,hope the winter in Wales is over think Our summer may be on the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

After having an unpleasant stay in Kaikoura the night before we approached our next stay with a feeling of intrepidation. We need not have worried. Thank you both Bindi for such a lovely welcoming stay. Your standards and professionalism are to be commended and we would not hesitate to recommend you to our friends. Next time we will be bringing our golf clubs.

Room Tip: No need as Bindi makes sure that you receive the best possible experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Bindi and shown to our large, well-appointed room with excellent ensuite. Everything you could possibly need was provided and an offer to do washing was declined and could have been very useful but we were at the start of our holiday. We had planned this as a luxury, relaxing couple of days and we were not disappointed.
We enjoyed the evening chat over wine and nibbles.

Breakfast was served outside in the attractive garden in a sheltered spot. It was excellent.

We used the towels provided for visiting the Hot Springs and also enjoyed walking in the area.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and thank Bindi and Peter for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

we had a great stay in this lovely, very clean and luxurious B&B.
Bindy and Pete are great hosts and gave us a very fine welcome.
The extra treats and little attentions made us feel very happy and made us feel as if we were speciale. Bindy did our laundry for free. The breakfast is refined and very good! We recieved extra towels to go to the hot springs. We stayed here 2 times in a 5 weeks stay in NZ. We just had to come back to this place !!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
We were the lucky ones to have you stay with us twice ! Know more about New Zealand birds than I did before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The room was very well furnished and etrememly comfortable. Breakfast is served to the room and was both substantial and tasty. The surrounding area is beautiful and there is plenty to do in addition to the Hot Pools. There are beautiful walks/tramps ranging from 20 mins to several hours. Overall, Marchmont Gardens is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marchmont Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchmont Gardens

Address: 123 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two purpose built adjoining suites in their own garden ,separate from the main home. Each suite has a small kitchenette microwave no hob but a barbacue is available. Your breakfast is delivered to you at your appointed time to eat in the garden or in your suite, a self cater option is also available.Guests must enquire if they wish to bring a pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marchmont Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marchmont Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.