We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marchmont Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marchmont Gardens to your Saves list
Marchmont Gardens
123 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hotel website $20 off
Ranked #1 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We are frequent guests here and we love it! With good reason, rooms are big, private, and separate from the house. Breakfast is superb! Bindi does an outstanding job if want some luxury, friendly service and to simply relax stay here!
Both Bindi and Pete are excellent hosts..and of course we will be back!

Room Tip: Both rooms are spacious and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
100
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

My husband and I had a lovely night away, staying in Bindy and Pete's lovely bed and breakfast guest house. Everything was lovely, down to the homemade biscuits waiting for us and the yummy citrus slice for supper at night. We felt well and truly spoilt with an absolutely beautiful breakfast provided (both hot and continental) and Bindy has a wealth of local historical knowledge to share about the area. The B&B is located within an easy walk to the township (fantastic shops, great cafes and a good selection of restaurants) and also the relaxing, recently renovated hot springs spa and swimming complex.
I can thoroughly recommend Marchmont Gardens and am pleased to say we intend to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Bindy could not have been more accommodating, friendly and helpful and she makes a mean cooked breakfast! We only had one night at Marchmont but we really wished we could have stayed longer! The place itself was perfect - fit for a king and queen and we slept like logs! Perfect location and stunning scenery too! Book it - you will not regret it - just stay longer than one night! It was our honeymoon and was the perfect place to spend one night of it!!! Looking forward to coming back!
Thanks Bindy
Chris and Gemma

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011 via mobile

Thanks to Bindy the owner who was just great. Such a great set up. Beautiful apartment with a breathtaking view - it's world class.
I'll be back for sure.
Breakfast was home cooked and by far the best I've had in NZ !!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This B&B was so relaxing and the room was spotlessly clean with attention to details and nicely colour co-ordinated and spacious with large window/sliding doors looking into a gorgeous garden (we were lucky having snow on the 1st morning!). Wonderful views, a grand breakfast and very hospitable hosts Bindy & Peter. Thank you both for what my wife and I agreed was our favourite accommodation throughout our 12 day South Island honeymoon trip. We wished we had stayed another night or two on top of the 2 nights we stayed. More like a home, with dvd's and late afternoon wine & nibbles. Very well priced and the bed was very cosy. Superb!

Room Tip: We tstayed in Mt Dunblane room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed at Marchmont Gardens to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, and were so pleased we did. What a wonderful place to stay, with a lovely unit and gorgeous gardens complete with a wide DVD selection, fresh flowers and lovely touches including plenty of Bindy's yummy home baking. The breakfast was sensational, both the cooked and continental were fabulous. A short walk to town helped us walk off the enormous breakfast. We highly recommend this lovely B&B for couples who want luxury and privacy in a fantastic setting with service second to none.

The restaurants are good in Hanmer, and Bindy suggested Chantilinis which was a good choice for a romantic dinner.

Room Tip: Both rooms look equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

From the moment we arrived at Marchmont Gardens we were made to feel welcome and at home. The accommodation was first class, the suite was large and comfortable with a good shower room and well equipped kitchenette. Breakfast was excellent, whether we chose the full cooked version or the continental. Can highly recommend the stewed Rhubarb compote! Our hosts were hospitable and helpful, with all the information we needed about fishing and golf....and the beautiful garden opened onto the golf course. We had a relaxing and very enjoyable three days. We would stay at Marchmont Gardens again if we are lucky enough to visit Hanmer Springs again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marchmont Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchmont Gardens

Address: 123 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marchmont Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marchmont Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.