We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews don't lie- wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Lake Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Village Lake Apartments to your Saves list
Village Lake Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Reviews don't lie- wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We had two nights here and the previous reviews have not exagertaed this place- lovely and beautifully set up. The kitchen was well set up and well provisoned with more than basic kitchen utensils.
We ate in one night- made the mistake of "eating" at Robbies one night and certainly you'll do better in the apartment kitchen
beds were to die for with the mattress covers just letting you sink in (maybe the pillows are a little thick). A great bath with spa setting if you didn't get enough in the hot springs.
The use of towels for the hot spas in town was a nice touch.
Very friendly service and quick response to any queries- soem previous people had turned the underfloor heating up and the room was a little too hot but quickly fixed.We stayed in soem lovely accomodation in NZ on this trip but this was the best for comfort.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My partner planned (from the UK) to take me to this place to propose to me! The owners were fantastic! All of the arrangements were done (surprise bunch of the most wonderful flowers & handmade chocolates) between my now fiance & the owners thru e-mails. The apartment was modern, clean, beautiful, quiet, roomy, the list goes on. I would highly recommend this place to everybody. We had a fantastic stay & thank the owners very much for all they did for us!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Village Lake Apartments is the best place we have stayed at in New Zealand. The apartment was ultra modern, spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Would like to have used the gas fire but was not needed as the underfloor heating was great. Also enjoyed the range of toiletries provided. The service was friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem, towels were even provided to use at the pools. We would totally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Absolutely sensational accommodation in a beautiful location. Luxurious fittings throughout and nothing was too much trouble, including a late check out so we could visit the spa pools in the morning. The only criticism is a weeny one, but not everyone likes big pillows to sleep on. Two thinner pillows would suit those who like low pillows and high ones.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedrooms apartment for one night with our toddler and my sister and her partner. There was more than enough room for all of us. The complex is stunning and the rooms even more so. But what really makes this hotel stand out from the crowd (and there are a few in Hanmer!) is the service. The lady on reception was sooooooo nice, and was really lovely to our toddler. Quite often at nice places they arn't too toddler friendly - but Village Lake was the opposite. I requested a 2nd floor apartment to stop our toddler escaping through the slidding doors and this wasn't a problem. They even have pool towels at no extra charge which is very good service. And the bed! Where do I start? Soooooooooo comfy OMG! I meant to ask where they got their duvet from because I want to get one for home :-) and to top it off I get home today and they have already rung to say we left a DVD behind and they can post it to us! Amazing :-) Can't rate it highly enough. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We've never stayed anywhere as nice as this, quite simply it is superb. Believe all the other posters and book with confidence. If only there was a bit more to do in Hanmer and a better supermarket we would happily return for a week or two. Well done to Village Lake's owners, you should be proud of such a lovely place. We paid NZ$230 a night for a 2 bedroom apartment which I considered money well spent.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chch new zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

great hosts, great place to stay, beds are comfortable and everything was clean and well presented. loved the bathroom too with the nice liquid soaps and shampoo and conditioner supplied.Even the nibbles left on the table for us was a nice treat too. only a short walk into town and all the main attractions are right there. mini golf was fun just down the main road.. Many thanks and we will return one day and hopefully soon

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 200Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Lake Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.