We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Lake Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Village Lake Apartments to your Saves list
Village Lake Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very stylish and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

A friendly welcome by Cathy got our two stay stay at the Village Lake apartments off to a great start.

The apartment was just as described as on the website, very stylish furnishings, cosy gasfire and stunning kitchen. We were especially pleased to find enough crockery, glassware etc for more than three people; so many places we've stayed only seem to have two or three settings for some reason.

The two bedrooms were a little small, but the living/dining area was quite large with two very comfy sofas, a table with six chairs.

Cathy had offered to book any tours etc for us, so we called to see if she could book us a private pool at the hot springs, which she did, and even gave us a discount voucher. Such excellent service. They also provide complimentary towels for the hot springs.

My tip is to ask for a top floor apartment; we had the groundfloor and there was really no view to speak of, plus it sounded like a hord of elephants were staying upstairs. We could hear every footfall, doorclose and toilet flush unfortunately. Our light fixtures even started rattling at one stage, I don't know what they were doing upstairs, but it couldn't have been anything good ! I know it's difficult to control this type of this, but it did mar our stay.

The apartments are an easy 5 min walk to the hot springs plus the shops and cafes that Hanmer has to offer.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, the service was excellent and the apartments very stylish and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

These apartments are pretty much brand new and you can tell. Very modern and very clean!
They have all the amenities you will need, flat screen tv's and stereo system. Fabulous courtyard area to sit, relax and soak in the sun at the back of the apartments.
Service was also great. Very welcoming, very friendly and chatty.
We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Hanmer!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

My husband and I had three wonderful nights in one of these beautiful self contained accommodation units.
We have travelled quite a bit and stayed in some beautiful five star accommodation hotels and units, but this would have to be the best accommodation we have ever experienced.
The units are very large, spotlessly clean and exceptionally comfortable. The location is great and the hosts Cathy & Bryan are wonderful friendly people who go out of their way to ensure you have a perfect time and nothing is too much bother.
Anyone travelling to Hanmer Springs, do yourself a favour and stay at Village Lake Apartments you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Our last stay in NZ and it was worth the wait, the apartments were perfect and wishing we could stay longer, Hanmer Springs in a lovely town and worth a visit. The breakfast's are a great idea when you only order what you want. The pond with ducks and the little dog next door just made it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We were lucky to be one of the first to stay here as it was opening for the first time..
Over Easter!
WOW - absolutely fantastic, these folk, Cathy & Bryan, worked so hard to get this set up to a first class grade, we travel alot here in NZ & overseas.
We would rate this as 5 star accommodation.
The bedding & the beds are fantastic, top quality bedding has been used.
Just hope everyone else appreciates all the comforts these apartments have to making a stay in Hanmer worthwhile.
We would love to return again ..... Good luck to Cathy & Bryan!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Four girls on a Spa Weekend Package from Nelson. What a fantastic luxurious apartment with so much space and all that you could wish for. The beds were honestly like sleeping on a cloud, the robes were so nice to lounge around in and the gas fire was just awesome. Cathy and Bryan were just lovely and so friendly. So handy to everything and our veyr own little pieve of luxury - just perfect with all the spa treatments and the pools as well. Thank you so much and I would recommend these apartments to anyone - just devine!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We arrived early and fell in love with our room, the comfort and space. Modern decor and the kitchen has everything you could think of plenty of utensils, pots, glasses you name it they had it. Laundry facilities are excellent and the jetspa bath is pure bliss!!! My kids couldn't stop raving about the place and definately were upset to leave.

The hotel is close to the village only a brief 2-3mins easy walk. Worth the trip next time we will stay longer and probably will book the 3 bedroom suite so our friends can join us as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 200Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Lake Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.