We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Aspen Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   24 Jacks Pass Rd, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Nelson
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an excellent motel. The accommodation was reasonably spacious and well maintained. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The location is central and the motel services were full, including an excellent DVD library and free wireless internet.

Room Tip: The ground floor has 'access' rooms with showers suitable for people with limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    30
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
50
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Thank you for providing a clean and well located motel in Hanmer. Arrived there at night and we were greeted by the manager. Really nice and polite.
The owners have a huge range of DVD's for guests too. Honestly if i go back I would definitely stay there again.

Best touch was the muffins they left in my room...wow...thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Arrived late in Hanmer with no reservation.
A conference on in town and after 2 places fully booked we were directed to Aspen Lodge. The owner gave great service and our unit was spacious and very clean. I would recommend it .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pleasantly surprised at the standard of this motel. Good sized room , very comfortable bed, very good and well equipped kitchen area, clean and well maintained. Very close to the centre of Hanmer with enough restaurants to satisfy everyone. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed there and it was pleasant. The managers were very nice and nothing was too much trouble. The next day when we came home we were very surprised to see a plate of home made muffins. Nice touch! A bit smaller than we thought but very clean and sunny in the afternoon. The tiniest wardrobe ever with 3 hangers.small flat screen in bedroom and another flat screen in lounge and e biggest range of DVDs ever!

Room Tip: A view of the snowy mountains is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A huge welcome upon arrival and a nice cosy room as they had left the heat pump on for us. Cosy bed and an excellent nights sleep. They are awesome with kids and our 1 yo daughter had a fantastic sleep in her portacot that was provided. We love Hanmer and were looking forward to our stay here, and as usual, it did not disappoint. Thanks again Anne.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellywooder
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Two friends and I stayed at the Aspen in early July and it is a lovely property! We had a two bedroom unit, which was clean, well maintained and, crucial for winter, nice and warm thanks to the heat pump. One of my friends had her 4 month old baby with her and it was no trouble for the hosts to provide a portacot (which was in excellent condition) and a baby bath.
The motel is in a very good location: under 5 mins walk to the pool complex and nearby cafes. We ordered Thai takeaway the night we were there and it was excellent.
The massive, complimentary DVD collection is a nice touch and the de-icing of our car in the morning was most appreciated! Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Motel

Address: 24 Jacks Pass Rd, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aspen Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.