We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GPO

GPO
43 Victoria Street, Cambridge, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 29 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Tapas, Pacific Rim, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: A building that is Heritage listed and has been the social centre of Cambridge for over a hundred years. Firstly as the local Post office and now converted to a Brasserie Bar in true Edwardian Style. That Edwardian style is also a secret of the building as the two entrances have the Royal symbols of both King Edward the seventh and Edward the Eighth. Edward the eighth abdicated a year after the royal symbol was put over the door when the building was extended to include the PO Savings bank, telegraph and registry office. As this building is possibly the only building in the world to have both symbols and of the abdicated King we have extended this through to our glassware. A must visit place when coming to Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We dined in a group of 10 celebrating my parents wedding anniversary. We were thoroughly impressed with the service from the wait girls and also one of the managers who spent a lot of time making sure his guests were comfortable.(fantastic to see!) They were friendly, inviting and polite. we needed to move the tables around to fit some unexpected friends that turned up which was organized quick and with a smile. The meal was sensational and not over priced. We had entertainment cards and used them with no fuss. It was a lovely setting to be in, beautiful decor and furnishings.Overall I would return and recommend to others. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cambridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great food. Very impressed. We stayed at the Earth Home and Al recommened this place and we were extreamly satisfied and pleased.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at GPO, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
While I normally reply to these types of reviews in a more personal manner I will take this occasion to publically thank this reviewer. We have been working very hard to achieve a comment like this and are very pleased the stars aligned. As we remember the standard of service and meals offered we certainly will do everything we can to ensure the standard is maintained and perhaps improved. We think the Earth house experience is a wonderful stay in Cambridge too. Regards David Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We came up for the Maadi regatta and a had a group booking last Friday, with Rangi Ruru parents. Meal cost $60.00 a head and was awful. Did they forget the vegetables?. The risotto my husband orded sounded good (beetroot and blue cheese) - it was so small and looked like pink spew !!! My Lamb was lovely but where was the rest of it? Chocolate tart was also awful, but had to give it to my husband because he was so hungry. We could have complained but the owner was too busy yelling at the staff in the kitchen! Didn't want or need that as well! It was recommended as the owner was an X-Rower maybe he should be an X-Restaurant owner?!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at GPO, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I thank this reviewer for the opportunity to tell people more about the background of the GPo Bar and Brasserie and yes I am an ex rower and attempting to do our best as a restaurateur. However I find people that tend to be negative in reviews twist their stories which means that their reviews are not entirely honest. I can understand that out of ninety people dining on the same menu someone is not entirely pleased with their choice but they forget also to mention they were given extra potatoes and fries to compensate for what they thought was not enough.Unfortunately beetroot will always colour rice and the dish is a combination of rice and beetroot with goat cheese cubes and micro salad to add taste and eye appeal and on the night was very popular and estimated volumes had to be remade.
However the more disturbing aspect from a business point of view was her description of why she didn't want to complain. "too busy yelling at staff in the kitchen". This did not occur and is not the management style of this owner where we wish to use the tools of empowerment which enable the staff with skill, to be the best they can be and meet the expectation of the customers without an autocratic brow beat. Our reviewer appears to watch too much Gordan Ramsay and her assumption that this type of thing occurs in every restaurant kitchen particularly ours is an incorrect assumption. On the night in question I happened to be in the bar area looking after a further sixty customers so how can i be yelling in the kitchen and besides if you yell at people it only makes complaints worse to solve. An ex rowing performance coach learning
We will however take heed of some of her criticism re portioning. We are glad her husband enjoyed the chocolate tart and she the lamb. We only ask that when reviewing you are honest and factual. Hopefully this demonstrates there is often two sides to a story and while things are not always right we do endeavour to appease the customer as best we can.We believed we did this with this reviewer.before she left but it would appear not. I again thank her for enabling us to tell you more about our practice's .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Poor old Cambridge is Doomed...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Ok, been here three times so I must be a sucker for punishment, that or living in hope someone in Cambridge knows how to run a restaurant.. But clearly no so off to Hamilton or Auckland for our dining..

2010 - Was good (3 Stars)
2011 - Getting Average (2 Stars)
2013 - I promise NEVER to go back.. (0 Star)

Basic Bar menu with no fine dining food listed but it was cooked OKAY and that is being generous and that was the only satisfactory part about our visit.
Don’t know what the owners are doing but they clearly do not know how to run restaurant, sorry but you don't.
It has over the last couple of years become very tired and run down. Toilets were just nasty, should have chosen a tree outside..

And please insure your serving staff have a shower before work and at least try and dress nicely/tidily..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at GPO, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
As a business owner and former performance sports coach, I am unsure of the intentions of this reviewer. No one minds constructive criticism but this review posses more questions than answers.
Was it the bar menu he was choosing from?. The Brunch lunch menu or our evening menu? As a reasonably harsh critic in a high percentage of his reviews he doesn't reveal his expectations of fine dining and as previously explained are we attempting to be that. Perhaps our winter menu will meet his expectations but the Cambridge market place will not support full fine dining and as a local resident one presumes he is fully aware of that fact. Other Cambridge fine dining restaurants in his reviews have had to make changes to suit the market or die.
I apologize that our toilets were nasty to him and have spoken to the six toilet bowls and four hand basins as well as the three urinals that they are not to be nasty to people. However they all blamed the ceramic tiling that lines the walls. I am therefore unsure of what made them nasty. Please be assured that all staff shower daily and deodorize every four to five hours, however from one person that since 5 years of age has never been able to keep a shirt tucked in regardless of how hard one tries we do attempt to present ourselves the best we can in between stocking shelves, arranging furniture and ensuring the brasserie looks the best it can be for you our customer.
Surprisingly on the three visits made to the GPO the reviewer has struck two or three different owners pending timing and as the last and most recent owner we are still learning the intricacies of this business. We haven't made drastic changes since taking over but as previously outlined we do have a plan and direction and are putting these in place with staff training and procedure and process implementation. We have yet to be here a full year but when travelling on a plane I wonder if our reviewer can actually fly it and what are the grounds for him to make a comment "we dont know how to run a restaurant". Dont be sorry, come up with some constructive fact of what actually needs improving. Please do not cloud your opinion with the perception of an unknown on both counts. If you choose to criticize and as a local person your comment in person would be more appreciated. You may even find the response different.
I thank you for at least giving our food your approval as this does matter most to us, Bar menu, fine dining or any perceived area in between.
We are about to start a redecorating programme but this is been worked through with one of our main suppliers (DB Breweries) to ensure we keep within the heritage rules that we are bound by.
I believe if you look at the other reviewers you will find we are developing the Brasserie format well We as a business appreciate their feedback but do get frustrated with nonconstructive criticism as this reviewer demonstrates using words of no meaning and then attacking "the person". This type of negativity does not make a business try harder or better and Cambridge is not doomed as it has much choice for dining experiences however it would appear not to this locals liking and that is the pity for the local because to do what he wishes in terms of fine dining we need local support. Signed respectfully David Rodger owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A relaxing dinner break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We came through Cambridge on the way north so we just wanted a quick meal before continuing our trip. Most travellers might be tempted to go takeaway or fast food, but I would recommend GPO for a proper meal and rest stop (the toilets are very clean and modern for such an old building!). Service was quick and friendly. Decor is nice and comfortable. Overall ambience was quiet, not too bright and definitely relaxing. I hear the place can get quite busy if there is an event in town or nearby. We had two main courses (fish & chips with salad, mussels in tomato sauce) and shared. The food was fresh, well-prepared and tasty - not your high end gourmet, but for less that $40, it was more than adequate. The wine list and selection of beers looked interesting but we passed for obvious reasons. We had a pleasent one hour break and continued on our drive to Auckland. I would recommend GPO (used to be General Post Office building) for your next meal in Cambridge whether just passing through or staying.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GPO also viewed

 
Cambridge, Waikato Region
Cambridge, Waikato Region
 

Been to GPO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GPO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.