We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful part of the world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntington Stables

Save Saved
You added Huntington Stables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Huntington Stables
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   106 Maungakawa Rd, RD4, Cambridge, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful part of the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. We stayed in the North Stable and it was everything it said it was. Absolutely gorgeous. Bed was comfortable, views were beautiful, kitchen was well stocked. Cambridge is a gorgeous town and its worthwhile to stroll through town. Very close to HObbiton, Rotorua etc. We got a discount, otherwise I would not have stayed it was rather expensive. Our host was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for your review. It was great that you enjoyed our Winter Break. Hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed a night here in the loft with our 8 week old baby. We were greeted by Carole who was lovely and so accommodating. As we walked up the stairs to the loft we were then impressed by a stunning outlook of countryside. I couldn't wait to wake up in the morning and sit down in the sun with a coffee and the amazing continental breakfast that included yummy homemade muesli, and look out over the lush green grass and rolling hills.
The heater was already going when we arrived so we were nice and cosy. The loft was beautiful, clean and luxurious. Care was taken in so many areas to make us feel really treated - lots of plump pillows on the bed, amazing smelling shampoo, conditioner, and hand and body wash, heated towel rail, chocolates by the bed, CDs to listen to and of course the divine breakfast.
I would thoroughly recommend the Stables to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing time away in superb, quality accommodation.
Thanks so much!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for those kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay, fabulous cottage, beautifully appointed and thoughtful touches, delicious welcome platter and wine. After a tiring day at the Field Days in Hamilton it was wonderful to come"home" to Huntington. Carole and Neil were extremely helpful and kind enough to rescue us when we got lost in the mist !! Exceptional service. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks Lisa,
It was lovely to meet you, sorry the fog set in at the end of your long journey. Glad we could be of help.
See you next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Apartment, tastefully furnished and a wonderful breakfast, only 5 minutes to Cambridge for dinner, and a lovely peaceful stay. Would definately stay again if we are in the area. The host wasn't there but her sister came over and settled us in, which was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks Margo for the kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry we missed you, but glad Paula was around to greet you. Look forward to meeting you some time in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in the Loft Apartment which was more than adequate for our needs. Extra touches like bathrobes / bubble bath and luxurious linen seaedl the deal for me. The spa and sauna was an awesome bonus after kayaking at night on Lake Karapiro. The swimming pool would be devine in summer. The continental breakfast supplied was terrific and enjoyed looking after the countryside vista. Would definitely stay again when in the Cambridge area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Sorry we couldn't have arranged better weather for you ! Better luck for the cycling next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A top option if you're looking to get away from it all. The tranquil rural setting is complimented by Carole's welcoming and super friendly service. We stayed in the loft which had a warm cosy feel, was tastefully decorated and very well appointed. The delicious continental breakfast, including home-made muesli, made a great start to the day !

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for the kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Home away from home. We stayed in the loft which we loved. Everything you need and feels like you are away from busy life but yet everything is as close as you want. Cambridge only a short drive, internet (free), SKY to watch the tennis. Homemade muesli and the jams and fruit were a very nice touch to an already great place. The bed was VERY good and so were the pillows. Thanks so much for sharing with us such a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Loft is quirky, but everyone seems to love it . Hope the tennis result was what you wanted!.Look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huntington Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Stables

Address: 106 Maungakawa Rd, RD4, Cambridge, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty lodging in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Huntington Stables 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxury, purpose built studios, with views over the surrounding farmland to the hills and bush beyond. Self-contained, serviced daily, complex includes swimming pool, spa, and sauna. Very romantic.Free Wireless InternetFree ParkingBreakfast included in tariff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Huntington Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntington Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.