We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muffins Bed & Breakfast

Muffins Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muffins Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Muffins Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
109 Kingsley Street | Leamington, Cambridge 3432, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Great hosts, great venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Have stayed at Muffins several times over the last few years and have always found the place to be immaculate. Chris and Bob are great hosts and go out of their way to ensure their guests have a great stay. The delicious muffins on arrival are an added bonus. I cannot recommend Muffins highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Sue comes to Cambridge for the dog shows. She sets up the patio area, which is secure, especially for her beautiful dogs to be free in the daytime and then they sleep in their special beds in the truck at night. We enjoy our repeat guests very much - it's like our extended family has increased! Thank you Sue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our stay was a short one due to a sick family member. Unfortunately, we were not able to stay the night and had to leave early. Chris & Bob have now looked after us and I would definitely recommend Muffins as a place to stay. I would love to go back there one day and enjoy their hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you! We look forward to a happier, longer stay, and with youir little ones, next time!! Go well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked at Muffins as we had a 60th birthday party to attend locally. We were most pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and quality of the B&B. We were warmly greeted on arrival with delicious muffins and the owners kindly drove us to our nearby party in the evening (even though there was a big rugby match on TV). On the drive back to Auckland we played golf at the nearby Lochiel Golf Club (only $20 a round) which was a great course to play. I would recommend Muffins and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed your time at Muffin's and topped the weekend off with a great game of golf. Must be due for a repeat trip . . . . . !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The family, 2 adults and 2 boys (2 and 4 year olds), stayed at the cottage. Hubby had a conference and we took the opportunity to do a bit of sight seeing around beautiful Cambridge. The property was immaculate and self-contained, and while compact it had a lovely big spa and the bathroom was spacious. The linens were crisp and clean, very nice. We were given fresh baked muffins in the morning, hence the name, which were instantly devoured. Our hosts also left toys for the boys to play with which was very much appreciated. It is close to town and very quiet, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Bob & I both enjoy having 'little people' come and stay at Muffin's. Thank you for taking time to write this lovely positive review - we appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Muffins B&B is a great choice if your in the area. A quiet separate unit away from the house allows you to come and go without fuss. Bob and Chris are great hosts and the warm muffins on the table when you arrive are an added bonus. We are repeat visitors and have no hesitation in recommending Muffins (except on rowing weekends when we want to stay!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. When you come regularly you start to feel like family!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Muffins B&B a couple of nights and found our hosts to be very welcoming, accomodating and cheerful. Our accomodation was spotless and everything we needed was there. The spa pool was an added bonus as was the lovely muffins supplied fresh daily.I have already booked a 5 day stay there for my family and I for Jan 2014. May also book a weekender during the winter to get the most out of the spa pool, & some time away. Highly reccommended to all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We love having champions staying in our B&B!! We look forward to your next visit, hopefully the whole family this time! Go hard champ!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We returned to Muffins because it provided the little luxuries we neeaded: a private SC unit; quiet; separate bedroom; a large bathroom / shower; separate dining/lounge area; patio; spa bath; delicious muffins / fresh fruit; welcoming / friendly hosts - just the ideal place to return to after a day's racing at Karapiro! thanks Bob & Chris

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We enjoyed following your wakaama progress and being the 'custodians of the waka' whilst it was parked on our back lawn. Thank you for choosing Muffin's and for your positive words, much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muffins Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muffins Bed & Breakfast

Address: 109 Kingsley Street | Leamington, Cambridge 3432, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muffin's - a cosy haven, nestled in a quiet & peaceful garden setting, just 3 minutes drive from Cambridge town centre. Completely self-contained, Muffin's is a private & cosy retreat for visitors attending the many events around the Cambridge area and a convenient rest stop for weary travelers on state Highway 1 - just 3 mins off the main highway. This family friendly 'home away from home' has two rooms which can be adapted to best suit the requirements of up to 5 guests. The lounge/dining area looks out onto a private, sunny patio with hot spa pool. You will also find a well resourced kitchenette, spacious en-suite, complimentary WIFI and serve yourself continental style breakfast ingredients supplied in your unit. Distances:3 mins drive to Cambridge Town centre. 6 mins to Sarnia Park. Within 15 mins to Hamilton Airport, Mystery Creek Events Centre, Maungatautari, Lake Karapiro. 45 mins to Tauranga, 60 mins to Rotorua, 90 mins to Taupo.Bob & Chris look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muffins Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.