We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a get together” 4 of 5 stars
Review of No. 1 Motels

No. 1 Motels
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added No. 1 Motels to your Saves list
No. 1 Motels
89 Victoria Street, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a get together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had a weekend here with a group of people for a bridge tournament. Accommodation was perfect for us, close to the venue, friendly staff, great community room for eating and socialising. Great food at nearby Thai restaurant and super breakfast menu at cafe downstairs. Staff friendly and helpful. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Stayed one night before going to Hobbiton. Reception lady was welcoming. The rooms were fine, clean and beds comfortable, tea or coffee available though no sink so you have to go to the shared bathroom to get water.
There was some kind of event going on when we were there and so a torrent if people going in and out of rooms, there are efficient door hinges that close the doors, so everyone lets them bang close. Quite noisy really, though just from guests and not much that the motel can do about that. We happened to be next to the bathroom so would suggest a different location for others as some people take noisy and lengthy showers it seems
I am not sure I would stay again, think that Youth Hostels cost about the same and have a bit more character, but wouldn't want to out anyone off as it has it's own market, if you want to be in or near Cambridge and stay in a basic place, then this is clean and comfortable

Room Tip: Probably better not to get room next to the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Unfortunately due to car trouble we needed to stay away from home another night. This was the first hotel we contacted and Jared, the Duty Manager, was extremely helpful. He gave us two room options as there were 4 of us adults. We checked in and have nothing but praise for the rooms we stayed in. We had 2 adjoining rooms with a shared bathroom. Both rooms had a super king bed, flat screen TV and most Sky TV channels. The rooms were spacious, warm and the beds were comfy. There was a large communal kitchen down the hallway with plenty of tables and chairs and a great full equipped kitchen if you are planning on staying for a few days. Definitely recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I stayed with my wife for one night at this motel in an ideal location within Cambridge. The receptionist was a very casual gentleman who, on our arrival, gave the necessary information in a bland, disinterested and uninviting manner. On entering our room we found it to be quite satisfactory considering the price, but showing no vibrancy or positive feeling - a room in need of an update and make-over.There appeared to be very little insulation as we could hear noise from the adjoining room, but heating was more than adequate and the bed was comfortable to sleep in. Unusually, there were no breakfast making facilities in the room - this could be done in a communal kitchen down the corridor evidently, but we took the option of eating at the cafe nearby.

Room Tip: Nothing to suggest, unless it is "go elsewhere"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrod A, Owner at No. 1 Motels, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Hi Chris,

Thank you for your review, we will take everything you have mentioned on board for future improvement. All our units are studio's with tea/coffee making facilities. This suites allot of people but not everyone, perhaps we should have shown you the room before finalizing the booking to ensure it was to your liking.
The communal kitchen also works well for our guests and we offer a free basic self catering breakfast of breads, spreads and cereal.
We are also in the unique situation in that we have 'Instone Cafe' directly downstairs who do a fantastic breakfast and coffee's. We encourage our guest to take advantage of this if it suites there needs and budget.

Take care,
Regards,
Jarrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We were made very welcome by front line staff, we were disappointed that the toilet did not
flush and it is time the pillows were renewed they were well passed their used by date. The carpets were due for a good clean, I seem to be complaining but this is such a good establishment, and so well located, Overall the accommodation was good value, but with only a minor few improvements it could be great.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed her form couple of time in April 2013 and 2014. good and convenient place to stay. Good price. Rooms at the back are good noise proof. Cafes and restaurants are handy. Nice shared kitchen on the premises. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Our workers need accommodation at short notice all round the country. Our guy who stayed here last night said to me to definitely give this place a tick. He said it was great. Very helpful with the booking too,

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to No. 1 Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 1 Motels

Address: 89 Victoria Street, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your No. 1 Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No. 1 Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.