We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of No. 1 Motels

No. 1 Motels
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added No. 1 Motels to your Saves list
No. 1 Motels
89 Victoria Street, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Palmerston, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for three nights and thought it was value for money. If you don't like traffic noise this is not the place for you, we got used to it by the second night. The staff and host we all vey friendly and the room although basic was very clean and was serviced daily. The communal kitchen was clean and tidy. It's a great location for shopping and cafes and ample parking. Free wifi was a bonus.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room away from roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foxton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Everything was lovely and tidy, and very clean. I enjoyed being able to sit in the communal kitchen/dining instead of being stuck in our room. We also enjoyed a free upgrade to a room with an ensuite, which was a real bonus and appreciated. We had a roadside room and even with the window open the traffic didn't keep us awake. Hosts were lovely, looking up directions for us on the internet, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: If you need a quieter room, ask for one at the back, although traffic noise didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My friend and I stayed there for 4 nights to attend Schottish Country Dance Summer School held in Cambridge around 2014 New Year. The place is centrally located with clean and tidy rooms. The beds are comfortable and rooms are done very nicely. The communal toilets and showers are always kept clean. The host was very friendly and happy to assist. The communal kitchen is well equipped with a nice balcony to have a drink and hand out with friends. Free internet access and good supply of towels are also appreciated. A definite stay-again place if I go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed in many motels and hotels in my life and this had to be one of the worst. Thankfully we were only staying for one night. I accept that the rooms were very cheap but there was very little to them. The bed was uncomfortable and, despite there been numerous notices around the place telling people to be quiet after 10pm, I was disturbed several times during the night by people coming and going and talking down the corridor. I dont think they were very noisy - it is just that the rooms have no soundproofing whatsoever so you hear everything happening outside the room and next door too.

I judge places by their shower - and this one was pathetic. I suspect that it was fitted with a water saving device which meant that you had to stay in the shower longer just to get wet.

Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night with my brother and his wife while we were all going to races. Near our horses and a quick drive. No difficulty getting in and out. There is a lift for one of us (disabled) People were friendly, the communal kitchen and balcony was a good place to meet others. Overall quiet even though on a main rd. Will stay again. Light in bathroom not great for putting on makeup though,

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahia Beach, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for one night in October. Our host was friendly and welcoming.The basic room was clean and bed comfortable. We were able to use their well equipped communal kitchen and sit on the balcony to enjoy a balmy evening with a glass of wine.
This motel is centrally situated, has good off road parking facilities ,and is reasonably priced. We would stay again .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for a night. Reception person was good and helpful. Very quiet being on the busy road. Central kitchen was a bonus. Car parking was not a problem. Good cafe is downstairs. Carpet was little stained but not too bad for the money I had paid.

Room Tip: If I would go again that side I would again book a room at the back of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to No. 1 Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 1 Motels

Address: 89 Victoria Street, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your No. 1 Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No. 1 Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.