We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only just better than camping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre

Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   7 Williamson Street, P.O. Box 469, Cambridge, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Only just better than camping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just better than camping: Not many positives, owners need to invest, looks to be 60s original inside and out, staff were friendly, shower was a drip, fridge was the smallest fridge I have ever seen. Should be budget accommodation , at very budget price

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    3
    17
See reviews for
14
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a rundown poorly managed Motel, we booked for 3 nights via Wotif. On arrival the poor condition we decided to only stay for 2 nights.
Rang Wotif and changed the booking, however they needed Kaye's okay to ensure we only stayed 2 nights.
The Office staff confirm all okay when we handed in the keys after the 2nd night.
However Kaye reneged on the change and ordered WOTIF to pay her all the money including the night we had arranged not to stay.
WOTIF were powerless to refund the money and left us really distrusting of this place and the management.
Stay Away would be our advice.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place, poorly managed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed at the Riverside of Cambridge as most of the motels in the area were either to expensive or were booked out. Kay the manager was very helpful in settling us in. Room was tidy with big opening French windows which when opened allowed fresh air into the room.Motel is a little out of the way and was very quiet. The restaurant was not open as renovations were in progress. We ate our evening meal at the Prince Albert Olde English Pub great meal and great selection of ales on tap. well worth a visit for a meal

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked 3 rooms for a sporting event. It was the only accommodation available in Cambridge that weekend. The reception area was extremely run down and smelly. We should have walked out then before paying a cent. It went from bad to worse. The rooms were so run down. Carpet was worn and looked dirty. The enamel hand basins were chipped and worn. The bedspreads were so old and we didn't even want to go near the towels. Our family left without a refund and found somewhere out of town to stay. Our friends didn't have a choice. None of them got a good nights sleep. The walls were so thin you could hear everything in the rooms next door. The floors squeaked, the beds were uncomfortable, the pillows were lumpy and all bedding was extremely worn. It is an embarrassment for our Country to even have such poor accommodation on offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

A good location is the only saving grace of this place Our experience mirrors most of your other reviews.We did stay for one night but only after rejecting the first room offered. We had a family room for the price of a studio,because the first room did not have cooking facilities which we had booked. The room was worse than shabby just worn out but the bed linen was clean & it was quiet.Before we left the next morning we looked at some of the other ground floor rooms where the nets were pulled open, they were so overcrowded it was beyond belief.We only found Tripadvisor later & will never book again without reading the reviews first

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Earlier this year we had the misfortune to book into a family unit at this place. Warning bells should have rung when they demanded full payment upon arrival and did not escort us to the rooms. When we got there we had an identical experience to the many reviews below. We were directed to the rear of the property, where the family units were. Old, decripet with shabby worn out chairs on the outside that should have been taken to the local tip. The inside wasn't much better (old, worn, not welcoming or warm and not terribly clean). We decided immediately that this was no place for a family of four, with a pregnant mum and asthmatic child. We returned to the office and requested a refund, and were refused. We had the office lady call the owner who was offsite, and I had the most rude and unhelpful woman bully me over the phone, refuse to refund and challenge me on every point I made. Their website does not reflect the state of their facilities and they conduct their business very unprofessionally. I was so incensed we left out of pocket $140. Looks like the owner has a bit of a racket going on - clocking up free money without providing a service. The only good thing to come from this experience was we found out about TripAdvisor from the lovely people who ran the accommodation we eventually stayed in. From now on I read the reviews BEFORE I book. you should too and heed mine and others warning about this place!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here! TERRIBLE
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Tidy, clean and basic. But others think worse. We stayed 2 nights. Sadly it is lacking love and maintenance. Asphalt is breaking up which struck me first. Friendly lady at reception. Textured ceilings not the best but bed fresh and clean and good shower. Definitely not the worst but just know what it is like. Would have been quite the place in its day....so close to Waikato river, which is nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre

Address: 7 Williamson Street, P.O. Box 469, Cambridge, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.