We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty! Avoid like the plague!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   7 Williamson Street, P.O. Box 469, Cambridge, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nasty! Avoid like the plague!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We nearly turned around and left (should have actually). They had kindly supplied us with a jug of rancid, gelified milk in the fridge for our coffees. The bed was two singles pushed together. My electric blanket didn't even have any socket nearby to plug in. I had to use the iron to press a white shirt but didn't realise that the bottom of the iron was filthy. It left black marks all over the shirt. We paid $90 for the pleasure of staying in this dive - rip off!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    6
    5
    20
See reviews for
16
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We nearly packed up and left after been shown our 'family room". This is the worste place we have ever stayed in our entire lifes! This includes rodent infested Morrocan dumps. Unfortunelty we had no time to move as we were in Cambridge for work. Smelt, dated, freezing, faulty electics, very unfriendly lady at reception and driveway and parking was in desperate need of repair and did not feel very safe. There was even a big spider in the bed. Everything was incredibly old and cronically out of date, quite disgusting in fact, the owners need to wake up and stop ripping people off this place is way below standards and should be demolished at once.

To sum up it looks like it was built in the 70.s and forgotten about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This place is the pitts !!!!!!!!!! DONT STAY HERE !!!!!!!!! Smelly and horrible -toilet all stained with last occupants excrement still on it YUK !!!!!! We were booked in for one night but left immediately we saw the room -JUST COULDNT bear to stay the night -checked in to another motel even though we had already paid !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Room somewhat tired and basic. Nice position and grounds. Room not expensive. Breakfast overpriced. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had pre booked as a group. but when we arrived we were put miles away from each other. We were surrounded by a wedding group who decided to party in their rooms until 4am. When I rang the manager in the morning and complained, he said "what was he supposed to do about it?". No managers are available after 9ish pm. The room had graffetti all over the ceiling, was dirty and smelt musty. Would not recommend any one stay here.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed at the motel one night but never again. Initially we were given cabin 1 but there was a leaking tap which had left a pool of water over the main bench. After contacting the office they gave us another room after ensuring that there were rooms available to swap, not really required as there was only one other person staying at the motel. The rooms are small, the furniture old. The best aspect was that the bed was comfortable. The location is fine but looses its ambiance due to the run down appearance of the motel. The cost over the internet, $130, was very excessive considering the standard of accommodation and exceeds that advertised in the New Zealand motel guide inside the room. The curtains in the room did not cover the length of the windows and the lighting outside ensured that we slept in semi-daylight. Very dissapointing and would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed one night. The receptionist was friendly, but covering and clueless. The room we were given (double, en-suite) was uncomfortable to be in: it was down a dingy alley; a squashed mosquito was hanging off the wall between the pillows and the light switch; the net curtains in the bathroom had dead and living flies trapped in them; there was a small spider between the sheets; the garden chairs on the small patio outside the sliding doors were covered in birds' droppings; and, worst of all, the bright alley lights (naked bulbs) were left on all night and glared through the uncovered glass panel above the door, making sleep difficult - in the bathroom, you didn't need to turn the lights on, it was so bright. The feeling we had of the place was of a once good quality motel now going to rack and ruin through neglect.

Room Tip: Try somewhere-else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre

Address: 7 Williamson Street, P.O. Box 469, Cambridge, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Motor Lodge & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.