We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barrel Room Cafe

The Barrel Room Cafe
354 Sundown Road, Ballandean, Queensland 4382 , Australia
07 4684 1326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Ballandean
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NSW Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at this restaurant recently, the food was superb it was like bing back in Italy.
We will be back I just wish we lived closer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    16
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went to the Barrel Room for lunch. The meals were absolutely delicious with an interesting range of offerings. The wine list was good value. I would highly recommend this restaurant however we did find the portions to be small and the prices high as there is no distinction between the lunch and dinner menu. Try not to let this sway you however as the food was truly top class and we would happily go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best we've found in almost 30 years of visits to the Granite Belt (but a standout anywhere)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

After reading positive Trip Advisor reviews we decided to drive the 260k from Brisbane for lunch. The place was almost packed when we arrived (and filled up soon afterwards). Went for an antipasto-style entree for two with extra Brie (delicious and filling); my wife had an entree-sized fettuccini with prawns as her main and I had the duck. Really good food and very friendly service. Planning a return visit for dinner, staying nearby. The best bit? Just on $80 for a wonderful feed. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had dinner at the barrel room and we weren't disappointed! Quality of food was excellent and I was very impressed with the menu. I also really loved the sitting area, it is an old barrel room with still huge barrels full of wine. The perfect place where to end a beautiful day at the Girraween National Park.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The menu provides an innovative selection of meals. The food is outstanding, fresh, well presented. Great pasta dishes, including home made items. Rustic environment. Excellent service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barrel Room Cafe also viewed

 
Ballandean, Queensland
Ballandean, Queensland
 

Been to The Barrel Room Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barrel Room Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.