We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will highly recommend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mason Wines Cellar Door & Cafe

Mason Wines Cellar Door & Cafe
27850 New England Highway, Ballandean, Queensland 4283, Australia (Formerly Cellar Door Cafe)
+61 7 4684 1341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 restaurants in Ballandean
Price range: $5 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Serving local, seasonal cuisine and arguably the best lunch on the granite belt... this cafe & providore offers great service, locally sourced seasonal menus, a fresh welcoming atmosphere and beautiful views of the vineyard.
2 reviews
“Will highly recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Went there just as the kitchen was about to close. Wonderful service and accommodating staff. Beautiful views. Great wines too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cellardoorcafe, Manager at Mason Wines Cellar Door & Cafe, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we're pleased you enjoyed your visit so much. Hopefully you'll be able to visit us again for some more great food and wine. Kind regards, Mason Wines Cellar Door Cafe team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    30
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensland Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stopped for lunch after visiting Giraween National Park. Being vegetarian we both had chickpea balls with haloumi salad on open bread. It was Devine! People around us were enjoying equally yummy looking food. Service was great and prices very reasonable. Would recommend and would return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cellardoorcafe, Manager at Mason Wines Cellar Door & Cafe, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We're happy to hear you found our healthy vegetarian open sandwich to be 'devine'. Thanks for your kind words and hope you get the chance to return soon. Warm regards, Mason Wines Cellar Door Cafe team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Love this venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The cafe provided a delicious breakfast and was very reasonably priced. The coffee was so good I had to have two. Staff were super helpful and very friendly. Because of this we decided to do a wine tasting and here too we found delight for our taste buds. The venue has a lovely outlook and a warm atmosphere. I only regret that we didn't have time to stay for lunch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cellardoorcafe, Manager at Mason Wines Cellar Door & Cafe, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We have to agree it's a rather special venue here set within such a beautiful vineyard setting. We do try our best to enhance this further with our excellent food matched with Masons fine wines served in a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere. We hope to see you again sometime when you have time to enjoy a lovely leisurely lunch. Warm regards, Mason Wines Cellar Door Cafe team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent wines, food, coffee, service, price, view.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for breakfast on the day after our annual wine tour as it had been recommended by a friend. Cheap, delicious food. Awesome service. The coffee was that good we asked where the beans were from, and they sold us a bag from their stock. The view over the lake is beautiful. All the wines we tried were liked by all. Cannot fault this place. Will be back again next year. Thanks Masons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cellardoorcafe, Manager at Mason Wines Cellar Door & Cafe, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for such positive feedback. We hope you’re still enjoying the coffee. Warm regards, Mason Wines Cellar door Cafe team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good coffee!! Wonderful friendly service, food and atmosphere. The wines were good too. This was by far my favourite winery experience on this trip to Stanthorpe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cellardoorcafe, Manager at Mason Wines Cellar Door & Cafe, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We strive to provide an authentic taste of the Granite Belt in terms of a culinary and wine experience. We are so pleased you appreciated our efforts. We hope you can pay us a visit again in the future. Kind regards, Mason Wines Cellar Door Cafe team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason Wines Cellar Door & Cafe also viewed

Ballandean, Queensland
Ballandean, Queensland
 
Ballandean, Queensland
Ballandean, Queensland
 

Been to Mason Wines Cellar Door & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mason Wines Cellar Door & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.