We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shiraz is a find in Ballandean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiraz

Shiraz
28200 New England Highway, Ballandean, Queensland QLD 4382 , Australia
(07) 4684 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Ballandean
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shiraz is a find in Ballandean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good service. Great food. Small but very good local wine list.
A welcome escape from Brisbane on a Friday night.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Amazing entre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The scallops and ravioli to die for!
Dessert was of the same quality
Mains were average but overall good.
Service was mixed. Waiter was great but waitress was a little abrupt

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food but lacking in service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

As locals, we eat here fairly regularly and are always satisfied and impressed with the food (particularly the steak). However, the service has slipped since we first started eating here. The wait staff don't seem to be as professional as they once were and they are always running out of beer. The last three consecutive times we've been, the White Rabbit dark ale has been unavailable or has run out after ordering one. On one occasion, two of the other beers were also unavailable which left a dismal choice for the beer drinker. During our last visit, we were also disappointed when paying the bill. The staff allowed the first four people in our table of 10 to pay separately, but the remaining six were not given that option, which meant that one of us had to pay nearly $500 on our own credit card and then ask to be reimbursed by the other five people. It is not specified "one bill per table" and we have never had to do this before, so have no idea why this suddenly had to be the case. If the service improved and the drinks fridge was always stocked, it would be a lot better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed having lunch at Shiraz. We were able to book a late lunch and food was delicious.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a long trip from Brisbane, had a lovely entree, and excellent fillet steak, cook to perfection. Will go back for sure.

Wish we had such a good chef in Redcliffe where everything is below average and prices are similar.

Well done.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiraz also viewed

 
Ballandean, Queensland
 

Been to Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiraz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.