We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for 4 on Friday evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shiraz

Shiraz
28200 New England Highway, Ballandean, Queensland QLD 4382 , Australia
(07) 4684 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 restaurants in Ballandean
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Dinner for 4 on Friday evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The place was packed full and we got an excellent meal served by a brilliant young waiter who was a complete star. This is a really well run Resturant in the middle of no where. The quality of the food was extremely high. We had a lovely evening. Please book as clearly customers drive for many miles to this Resturant,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    30
    15
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best meal of your life!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Amazing food, Chef and owners John and Jen are perfect. Their food and service cannot be faulted. Eaten their twice in two years, so took 15 mates from Sunshine Coast there for birthday dinner. You will not eat a better steak in the world and the deserts are amazing. Each mate couldn't believe the fantastic food in quiet Ballandean. Go and try it for yourself. Local wines compliment the food perfectly, you will not be disappointed. This Restaurant belongs in Sydney or New York with its stylish presentation and flavours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great to support fine cuisine in the country.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were told that this restaurant was a bit pos! I think the person transalated the price list into posh. This humble eating facility is priced the same as any qulaity restaraunt in Bris or the Coast and the qulaity is just as good.

Not being able to drop our geara tthe Apple & Grape Motel - Stanthorpe & catch a cab - we drove to Ballandean where Shiraz is located on the main highway thru town.

During a lovely glass of Symphony Hill bubbles, the aromas from the kitchen and meals around us convinced us that we would leave trhe car and emabrk upon a memorable lunch.

The menu is very simple and based around the freshest available fare. The entres are to die for especially the prawns. We were told that the wild caught Barra ( not local obviously) had only arrived the day before anf it was an exceptional piece of fish.

As we made our way thru the courses they were each complimented by a good selection of local wine by the glass. Desert was well catered for after a couple of hours of honest grazing.

Quality food & wines worked out around $100 per head and the limo ride bak to Stanthorpe was $50 but well worth the experience...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, nice staff, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had heard good things about Shiraz but we came away felling somewhat disappointed. The presentation of the food was nice - some of us had the salmon which was served nearly cold and those who had the pasta were unimpressed. Desserts however were nicely done. We felt that the menu could be modernized a bit ( meals were served with chips!) A pleasant night out but not excellent cuisine.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“watery fish and soggy crumbs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

just dont waste your time or money, I didnt know it was possible to do the to barramundi, as for dessert, well..........

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiraz also viewed

Ballandean, Queensland
Ballandean, Queensland
 

Been to Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiraz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.