We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb japanese restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orita's Japanese Fusion Restaurant

Orita's Japanese Fusion Restaurant
34 Jackson St, Toorak, Stonnington, Victoria 3142, Australia
(03) 9826 2111
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Toorak
Price range: $65 - $65
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Superb japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have been here twice and were each time very positively suprised by the excellent cuisine.
The setting and tasteful japanese decor add much to a perfect dinner experience.
We have been to many japanese restaurants on 4 continents but this must be one of our favorites.
Very friendly and attentive service as well as a reasonable price setting make it just great.
Will certainly return there every time when in the Melbourne area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We go to Orita's at least once a month. We love it. The atmosphere is perfect. The food is authentic, delicious and excellent quality. I love the "potato salad" which is offered upon arrival. Simple but outstanding! The sashimi is perfect in every way. The service is second to none and Carla is the perfect host at front of house. She always greets us warmly and nothing is too much trouble. This restaurant is tucked away in Toorak but well worth seeking out. We love the fact it is BYO for wine, however, they are licensed as well. We have taken many friends here and everyone we have taken, returns with their own friends. I would recommend making a reservation as it does get very busy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent Authentic Japanese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I consider myself quite a professional eater, especially for Japanese food! I have tried to cultivate a sixth sense for food (!) and when I am in Japan, I try to only go to high-level Japanese restaurants.

When I visited “Orita’s”, I was amazed at chef Orita-san’s way of cooking. They serve the very best sashimi which I can’t find in other Japanese restaurants. Their tempura is perfectly gentle and crunchy but still keeps the taste of each food beautifully. If you are a potato lover, I give you a guarantee: their Japanese style potato salad is excellent. It seems they always choose the best quality of beef. The way they cook it, the meat is very tender and taste is super. I'm not much of a dessert eater, but I'm always happy to try their dainty desserts.

I am really impressed and will always go back there whenever I can.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

You have both takeaways and formal dining which is fantastic. We love your food. We'd encourage you to improve a little better, so that it's not too bitter and that there is taste. Add freebies in the takeaway too!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Always Great - A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We go to Orita's several times a year and always find the food to be exceptionally good and the service second to none. It is a small restaurant in an unlikely location however they simply get the whole hospitality thing right. Nothing is too much trouble and you can be guaranteed a wonderful evening, food made with attention to detail and service that is just right.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orita's Japanese Fusion Restaurant also viewed

Toorak, Stonnington
Toorak, Stonnington
 

Been to Orita's Japanese Fusion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orita's Japanese Fusion Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.