We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing since the new owners took over in April 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toorak Manor

Save Saved
You added Toorak Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toorak Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Williams Road, Toorak, Stonnington, Victoria 3142, Australia (Formerly Flag Heritage Toorak Manor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Toorak
Newcastle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing since the new owners took over in April 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was expecting to write a really good review for what was our favourite Guest House in Melbourne. The good first: The house, whilst old, is in an excellent position, right opposite Hawksburn Station, and a short walk to either Hawksburn Village or Toorak Village. There is free parking, the beds are sound, and the place is quiet, even though it fronts a busy road. I have stayed in Room 9 at the front twice, and another upstairs at the back. In fact the front room is better as it is quieter as the floorboards in the hall don't creak.
If you book directly, you always get the continental breakfast for free (if you ask).
Now the bad.
The new overseas owners do not turn on the central heating. I have never been so cold having breakfast in June with the kitchen and outside door wide open. After the first day I wore jumpers and parka, and was thus moderately comfortable. Unlike previous visits, no-one was using the comfortable lounge.
There is a surcharge on credit cards, and even though I had given my credit card number when booking and said I would pay cash, I was asked each day to pay for the following night. A bit annoying!
The staff, whilst pleasant enough if a direct question is asked, don't seem to know much about any current attractions in Melbourne, and all the brochures pre-date the April takeover.
Given the location, and price, it is probably still good value for money, but nowhere as good as it was.

Room Tip: Try numbers 9 or 10 upstairs at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    22
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
12
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This accommodation is in a convenient position very close to Hawksburn railway (although not all trains stop here) and is a pleasant walk to Chapel St. Despite being a 'B and B', the breakfast is an extra $7 for mediocre toast and cereal. A magnificent cooked breakfast is available for around $10 in nearby Chapel St. The bathroom was very good and clean but I booked the 'deluxe' room which turned out to be more like a very 'standard' room - not like the photos! Staff pleasant enough but not available after 6pm.
The convenience to the railway station and the good bathroom are the best points.

Room Tip: one side of the house borders the railway line and the front of the house is on quite a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just an overnight stop.

Room was nice, good size and clean.
Bathroom again a good size and clean.
Staff pleasant and helpful when asked. Don't go out of their way but thats fine.
Included breakkfast was plentiful and exactly as advertised.
TV was old and not LCD.


Not an exciting place but a good stay - pleasant, did the job.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I have stayed in many places and this is in my top three ever. Immaculately clean, quiet and welcoming, absolute charm and beautifully presented. Lovely little stroll to great shopping strip. Trees outside with picnic area. Staff could not do enough to help, and were very kind and friendly. The building itself is of huge historical interest and I did not want to leave. I am already planning my next stay. Thank you so much, it was a much treasured time out stay.

Room Tip: My room was fabulous and I cannot imagine any of them being less. I was right at the front but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

Staff weren't all that friendly and attentive.
Rooms were nice although we had to plug the jug in on the floor as there was not a higher power point.
Room walls very thin, heard a couple come in at 2am and have a bit of a gOod time until early hours of the morning.
Breakfast is nicely served, once again no staff around to offer assistance when things get low.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I've now stayed at this hotel twice after receiving paid accommodation from one of my clients whilst I was down visiting. I've spent approximately 10 nights accommodation here and it has been pleasurable.

Firstly the service I have received from Dennis has been great, breakfast is ready nice and early and you can hear some relaxing irish music or just peaceful music. Being a hotel there isn't much in the way of facilities but this was not required for my purposes.

After finishing 10-12 hour working days I could easily come back to the hotel (any time) and just kick back and relax watching tv or having a cuppa. The hotel is close to the train station but surprisingly not that loud and being soo tired I have never really noticed the noise (windows opened or closed)

If you want to have extremely friendly staff in a boutique bed and breakfast style hotel I can recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Visited Melbourne for some Christmas shopping and social events, we were provided with a friendly service at Toorak Manor with a 'home-away-from-home' feel. Breakfast hours were even extended an extra half an hour for us when we had slept in!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toorak Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toorak Manor

Address: 220 Williams Road, Toorak, Stonnington, Victoria 3142, Australia (Formerly Flag Heritage Toorak Manor)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Toorak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Toorak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Toorak Manor 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Toorak Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Toorak
Toorak Quality Inn
Toorak Manor Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toorak Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.