We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Resort Magenta Shores

Save Saved
You added Quay West Resort Magenta Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quay West Resort Magenta Shores
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Magenta Drive, Magenta, New South Wales 2261, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Magenta
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place to getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This secluded hotel/resort is a great place to getaway with either a partner, friends or family. It has somehting for everyone, especially if you like to golf.
Rooms are large & private & everything in the whole place is brand new.
No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    82
    32
    18
    12
See reviews for
72
81
5
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

Really nice resort, wish it had been warmer for swimming. Breakfast is great only drawback is that it's not close to the beach. It looks like it is but it's not just a quick walk out your door like it is to the pool.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The units were spacious, clean and comfortable. I was there for only 2 days but would definitely go back again if i was to stay in the area. The beach was very "Blowy" and the sea a bit rough, but great anyway.
Now the Golf.......what a course!!!, Tough and Challenging but the layout is fantastic, would be even a greater challenge in windy conditions, thankfully the wind was not too bad when we played. Would definitely bring my mates there for a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The company I work for had a team building day at the Quay West Magenta Shores Resort on the Central Coast last week.
Our office is on the Northern Beaches in Sydney, only a 90 minute drive from the Central Coast. We left the office around 9 and arrived at Magenta Shores by 10.30. I was really impressed with the feel of the resort...... I felt more like I was in the tropics than 90 minutes from the largest city in Australia.
The central coast resort is primarily a golf resort, with a beautifully manicured, world class golf course wrapped around the resort itself. It has sophisticated conference facilities ranging from a huge ballroom that can be separated into 3 sections, to well lit meeting rooms with state of the art technology. There are 2 restaurants, both overlooking a manmade lake and the golf course. The main restaurant was booked out for a large conference, so as we are only a company of 6, we ate at Shallows. Although, the menu wasn’t huge, the selection was lovely and the quality was first class. I had the fish of the day (jewfish) on a bed of caponata with preserved lemon and salad...... delish!
The resort also offers a range of central coast accommodation. There are 2 and 3 bedroom villas that can also be divided into 1 bedroom and studio apartments. So, realistically there is something for everyone! They also have a day spa and a kids club, 3 swimming pools (indoor heated lap pool and outdoor resort style pool complete with bar!). Plus, it’s only a short stroll to the beautiful Magenta beach. I was really impressed with the hotel overall, we were given a tour of the resort by the manager and were shown the inside of one of the villas. The decor was modern and the rooms were spacious. I’m actually struggling to think of a demographic that wouldn’t love this hotel. It would be ideal for a boys/bucks weekend with the surf beach, golf course, tennis courts etc, or a girls/hens weekend with the day spa, swimming pools and tennis courts. Also, fantastic for a family holiday with something for Mum, Dad and the kids, plus, if need be, within commuting distance from Sydney if work beckons.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed in a 3 bed villa overlooking the golf course with a strip of the sea as a backdrop. We enjoyed our stay immensely, the villa itself was modern and clean, the kitchen had everything you needed to cook and stay in for dinner, and the beds and pillows afforded a comfortable sleep.

As the weather was cooling down, we used the indoor heated swimming pool, the kids loved it.

Service: the staff were friendly enough. The only issue is that on our first morning there we had to wait a while to get our coffee at the bar.

Value: The prices for food and drinks at the bar and restaurant were a little over the top (normal prices for hotels). You're better off going to The Entrance, which is close by, to eat out. We stayed during the long weekend so the price for the villa was marked up so of course it was quite expensive.

Overall, it was a great stay and we are planning our next stay there as we loved it so much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights (April ’11). We stayed in a 1-bedroom spa golf villa, which was the ground floor component of a stand-alone building that had a common door & hallway with stairs leading up to two suites above it (for other guests).
The villa itself was nice – good size rooms, the spa bath was great, bed and pillows were great, kitchen was ok (could do with a few more utensils), adjoining garage, and views over the lake & golf course. Everything was in good condition and the room had been cleaned well, except for a few daddy long legs and webs along the ceiling. The outdoor area had plenty of bugs and webs and didn’t look as though it had been cleaned properly in a while, but this didn’t really bother us.
On our second night, we had guests in the suites above staying after a function. Unfortunately for us, they were rather drunk and angry so between midnight and 3am there was yelling, arguing, doors slamming, furniture moving (??), and people running up and (seemingly falling) down the stairs.
This freaked me out as they were loitering in front of our lounge and bedroom doors and had access to our car in the garage. We called management who sent out security. The next day management decided to compensate us for our horrible evening, which was very good of them and pretty much why I am writing a positive review rather than a bad one!!
Besides the drama: 5 stars to the gentleman behind the reception desk. The facilities (pool, gym, spa, tennis court, golf course) seemed good - unfortunately we didn’t get a chance to try them out. The service at Barrett’s Restaurant was attentive and the food well prepared and tasty. The location of Quay West is good with The Entrance and Toukley only a short drive by car. It also had access to a very long stretch of beach. I would recommend this place to other people.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Stayed only one night here to break up our journey. Would have loved to have stayed longer, as it was a wonderful place to relax and rejuvenate. The studio room was very spacious with a decent sized balcony overlooking the pool. Unfortunately we couldn't swim in the lagoon pool as it was closed for maintainence, but the indoor heated pool was available. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a nice walk in shower. Both the buffet breakfast and wait staff were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quay West Resort Magenta Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Resort Magenta Shores

Address: 1 Magenta Drive, Magenta, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Magenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Magenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Resort Magenta Shores 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quay West Resort Magenta Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Resort Magenta Shores Hotel Magenta
Quay West Hotel Magenta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Resort Magenta Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.