We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and very confortable B&B with a luxurious tropical garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Yemaya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Yaque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Yemaya
Loma del Yaque, El Yaque, Margarita Island, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in El Yaque
London, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A friendly and very confortable B&B with a luxurious tropical garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

They have it all right in this cosy yet animated posada!
With only 14 rooms, you'll quickly learn to know your fellow guests. Hervé will make your stay easy and entertaining: he knows all the tricks and things to do / not to do on the island, will organise some parties at the hotel swimming pool, not mentioning that he used to be a doctor not so long ago which is always reassuring (unless you go on holiday with your GP).
The rooms are large, very cosy and decorated with the best taste. Breakfast is served on a terrasse with seaview, you'll have the choice between delicious local food and continental dishes, with different fresh fruits juice every day. The garden is so lovely that it's temping to stay there all day long, chatting around and enjoying the swimming pool. Note that the beach is only at a 2 minute walking, so you can always come back to your room, which is quite handy when the beach becomes overcrowed and overnoisy.
I will certainly come back and recomand this place to anyone coming to El Yaque.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margarita Island, Venezuela
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

I am so sorry I am just getting to this review. . It has been 3 months since we have been back to the states. Tai and I miss you and your wonderful staff.

Posada Yemaya is the best place to stay on El Yaque. Staff is excellent, Muy Bien!!!

Everything you need is on-site. The beach and night life is steps away. Bring a lantern or flash light, it does get dark walking up the hill. Very safe neighborhood with motorized security patrol.
My son Tai and I felt very safe and enjoyed our stay. Now we are back to the grind and wishing for another summer vacation.

Hope to see you again in the summer Herve!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Charming place, simple but excellent breakfast, very cosy and stylish rooms, with lots of space. The owner is very helpful and is very well-known from the locals since he is the only doctor!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

I went kitesurfing with my boyfriend for 2 weeks early Jan 09 and stayed in Pousada Yemaya. I can't recommend it enough - I looked around quite a few of the other hotels whilst I was out there and can honestly say it's in a different league to the hotels on the seafront which seem really 'tired' in comparison. It's about a 4 minute walk from the beach front in a quiet and peaceful location (if you're kitesurfing it's advisable to leave your kit at a centre on the beach rather than lug it back and forth each day). The rooms are stunning - very tastefully decorated with air con and a fan, and each with either a large balcony or terrace area with comfy seating - and there are fabulous views from the breakfast terrace. Every day the rooms were cleaned and we were given fresh towels, the sheets were also changed regularly.

It's set in colourful gardens and there's a lovely pool and outside shower which, even though we didn't use that much as we were on the beach most of the time, was great to have. Some rooms have a kitchen area which you pay a little more for, whilst the other rooms have a fridge. There's also an amazing apartment with a full kitchen and seating area that sleeps 4 and is definitely what I'd go for if I went again with more people. The breakfasts are really good, even though they get a bit monotonous after 2 weeks - pancakes, toast, ham, cheese, fresh fruit, eggs, fresh fruit juices (the passion fruit juice is amazing) and coffee. It is run by a french family who are very friendly and can give advice on what to do/ visit etc.

The only things that would have made it better would be to have had a TV/ DVD in the room - there's not much to do in El Yaque in the evenings, so having the option to watch a film on a couple of nights would have been good. Also it would have been good to have been able to buy drinks/ snacks there as it would save going to the shops if you're feeling lazy (the shops aren't far away though) and finally it needed a few more chairs/ loungers around the pool.

  • Liked — Stylish, clean and comfortable rooms and the more peaceful location
  • Disliked — No TV/DVD or internet access
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marseille
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

La posada Yemeya is superb ! we passed a genial stay. La posada is very confortable with a very good team. Herve "the owner "is very sympatic and explain the way to live in el yaque.......the best restaurants, the best bar,the best kite-surfing or windsurfing club and the best place to visit on the island.....so on.
In addition "el yaque" is the best spot to progress in kite surfing every days we have wind
An advice..........contact Herve if you plan to go in "la posada yemaya" an don't take a travel agency like use.
Have good time in el yaque.
Philippe and Sabine from Marseille (France).

  • Liked — th tealm and the room with a magnific shower
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Posada Yemaya is located in the top a Hill in El Yaque, a place widely know for extreme sportsmen and newlyweds. It was opened in January 2008, and offers a basic hotel service but a satisfactory one.

There is no signals or directions on how to get there. This is an issue that must be solved, even the place does not have any name in front. Rooms are spacious, with comfortable beds and a decent-sized bathroom. My room had a small refrigerator, no microwave oven and no TV (TV is in the process of being installed, as well as Internet).

Bedding and towels are new and were replaced every day. The Cleanliness of the room is one of the most remarkable things of this place, as well as the politeness of its staff.

Breakfasts are served between 8:00 am and 10:00 am. The breakfast room has asuperb view of Coche Island and in clear days even Paria Peninsula may be seen. The service is really good with a simple but tasty variety of meals.

My stay at Posada Yemaya was OK. It is a perfect place for a romantic weekend or for a short vacation. However if your purpose is for shopping, this hotel is not for you as it is too far away from the shopping areas of Porlamar.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the room and reasonable fares.
  • Disliked — Maybe an amenity kit for the bathroom could add an extra value to the stay.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Yemaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yemaya

Address: Loma del Yaque, El Yaque, Margarita Island, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > El Yaque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in El Yaque
Also Known As:
Posada Yemaya El Yaque, Margarita Island, Venezuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Yemaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Posada Yemaya to your Saves list