We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samana Chakra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Samana Chakra to your Saves list
Samana Chakra
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   Lagunas de Mancora Lote 5 y 6, Mancora 99*, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Mancora
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Samana Chaka
LOVE IT !!! This is a place to be highly reccomended. The rooms are nice and spacious. We love the bathrooms which are set in such a way that you feel you are in the open. Every night you can hear the waves crashing and in the morning you wake to the sound of the birds. All of the staff seem to be dedicated to their work. The food served by the Argentinian cook was exceptional and he clearly had a passion for his work. The yoga teacher was much the same with her friendly professional classes. We did not have so much to do with the other staff, but all of the time you could see them pottering around cleaning, gardening etc. and they were all very friendly. We spent 3 days here and really had to prise ourselves away. We left feeling relaxed, fit and healthy after the lovely food and the yoga classes. If there is one thing to be improved it is the Internet connection which was slow at times and only available around the pool and restaurant. This was a minor problem considering everything else that is so positive. We will defiantly be back !!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    2
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I never knew that total relaxation could be so celestial!! What a place! If you want a place to unwind, relax, do yoga, listen to the ocean, eat great, get some sun, Samana Chakra it is!!

Simple, uncomplicated, unpretentious, just awsome. And the staff, all of them, attending to your every need. Do you want to get spoiled? Get to Samana!

Yoga every day. then long beach walks, a little reading, a lot reading, eat, go to town for awhile... is there anything better?

Macarena's yoga classes were great! And Esteban, the chef, will keep you deliciously well fed. Christian, Edwin and the rest of the staff made our stay unforgetable. Really!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at Samana Chakra for 3 weeks leading a Yoga Teacher Training with my School Drishti Yoga Teacher Training. We were so lucky to have found this spot. The location was ideal. The Yoga studio over looked the pool which over looked the ocean! A perfect tranquil setting. The food was outstanding by the phenomenal chef Esteban. He was so creative with an all vegetarian menu. My students were really impressed with the place which is exactly the feedback we hope to get. I highly recommend a stay here for yoga, surfing or people who want to relax and enjoy the beaches of Peru!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and i had an amazing and relaxing time at samana chakra, we felt like home! Well taken care of with love and respect, the chef Stefan made fenomenal meals, juices by Jorge were amazing, wonderful and relaxing yoga is there for you everyday:) overall i can't wait to be back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We (3 girls) stayed in feb in mancora for 3 nights and wanted to relax. Samana chakra was our first choice and we decided to spoil ourselves on our otherwise backpackertrip as we managed to negotiate a good rate ( off season).
Our beachfront bungalow was Spacious with 3 big beds, all fitted w mosquito nets. Especially loved tge outside bathroom. Staff was super attentive and made all of out many food extras possible. Food was fresh and tasted great.
We took a couple of the yoga classes and enjoyed The experience. The resort has a great size- about 10(?) bungalows only, so its very private. There is a nice pool which we mainly used as the waves felt fairly strong. Perfect spot for some quiet days and relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Yoga studio and massage readily available, a relaxing retreat. Good beach access, lots of bars and restaurants. Also enjoyed a lovely dinner by the superb chef at the hotel. Rooms and common areas were well presented. Easy to get into town by moto.

Room Tip: Beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at Samana Chakra for over a week on our vacation. We are in love with everything that Samana Chakra has to offer! Our Chef Esteban was incredible! Every meal we had from Breakfast to dinner was unbelievable, fresh, and prepared to perfection! Not to mention his amazing personality that makes you feel right at home. All of the office and facilities personal treated you as friends, not guests! They are sweet and kind hearted.

Each villa is exactly what you need! The beds are comfortable, showers are so warm and nothing is better than the view. We went out for kitesurfing and were able to walk 10 feet to the ocean, strap-up and off we went!

The yoga is perfect for any yogi, and the town is just 5 minutes away. The shopping and restaurants are very fun, and we met some life long friends!

We love Samana Chakra and can't wait to come back! Please go visit and say hello to Esteban, Boris, Edwin and the little perros for us!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are perfect for family's and couples!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samana Chakra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samana Chakra

Address: Lagunas de Mancora Lote 5 y 6, Mancora 99*, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samana Chakra 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Samana Chakra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samana Chakra Hotel Mancora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samana Chakra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.