We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising restaurant at Mancora” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tao Restaurant

Tao Restaurant
Avenida Piura 240, Mancora, Peru
(73) 25-8056
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Mancora
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Surprising restaurant at Mancora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a very good restaurant in Mancora. I had a "Lomo de Atun Saltado" (Fried Tuna fish with onions, tomatoes, colantao and red peppers), it was delicious. The thai fusion that they cook, is great. The taste of their food is excellent. The service is quick. This is an excellent restaurant that you should visit in Mancora.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    60
    18
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great food, good attention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We ate several times in Tao restaurant with my family, and it was always great.

The Thai and other asian food is great, as well as peruvian food. I had once a salad with fresh tuna which was delicious. We had several rice dishes and asian pasta dishes, with meat or with fish or seafood which were also great.
As starters, we ordered fried Wan Tans, which were the best we got in any place so far. They come with three different salsas.

The waiters are friendly and efficient. The atmosphere is very relaxed, good music, drinks, and the food is prepared in short time and comes all together.

You can sit at normal Tables with chairs, but you also can sit more asian style at lower tables, which we preferred.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A little gem of a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We loved the food here so much so that we ate here on the two nights that were stayed in Mancora. We found it very challenging to find Asian food in Peru and a lot of South America and it was a welcome respite from the usual food that we had been eating. Whilst it wasn't on a par with the Thai restaurants in London, the food was beautifully presented with delicious flavours. There was also a lot of choice with lots of creative dishes. I would recommend the thai red curry which was very tasty and the spring rolls were also very good. The staff were so helpful and really looked after us. We were travelling in South America for 5 months and this restaurant had some of the most delicious food we ate in that time. I would definitely recommend this to my fellow travellers. It's just a shame there are not more restaurants like this in South America!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Dont lose the opportunity to try their nyami "Tao" salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The serve a good known Asian food, but their chief makes a real masterpieces of a simple salad. I've tried "Tao" salad with a shrimps and tuna and it was yami!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not authentic but awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

The curry here was less than authentic but we are in Peru... It should be expected that curry would not be prefect. We got the tuna special which was amazing! Even though the curry wasn't authentic, the green one had lots of flavor and tasted amazing! It deff has some pesto in it. Another person got sweet and sour chicken which was good, but the chicken was super deep fried.
It is right on the pan am highway so noisy and a bit smelly at times.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao Restaurant also viewed

Mancora, Piura Region
Mancora, Piura Region
 
Mancora, Piura Region
Mancora, Piura Region
 

Been to Tao Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tao Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.