We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of Paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Surf Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laguna Surf Camp
Save
You added Laguna Surf Camp to your Saves list
Mancora, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A little slice of Paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is my favourite hostel ever.
Comfy, clean beds, sooooo many hammocks, 2 outdoor chillout areas, a little pool to cool off in, a secluded beach 1 minute's walk away, and the dazzling jewel in Laguna's crown is Pepe, the incredible chef. Pepe is hilarious and his food is just divine, he isn't a cook, he's a chef who's learned his art in some of the world's best training grounds, and he LOVES what he does, if you order it a day in advance he will make you the best fish and chips you have ever had, his burgers are famous in Mancora, everyone who tried them said they were the best burgers they'd ever had, we only ate anywhere else during our trip because the restaurant is closed between Sunday afternoon and Tuesday morning (usually open from around 8am-3pm and 6-10pm). Andrea who was managing Laguna during our visit was wonderful, helpful and fun too.
The showers are cold, no problem when it's hot, but if you want a warmish one aim for about 4pm when the sun has heated the water up, or shower outside in the sunshine. Also, the water can stop working sometimes, but you just need to ask one of the staff to put the pump on briefly.
The atmosphere was chilled, and since they ask everyone to keep it quiet after midnight it's easy to get a good sleep.
Writing this is making me miss it all too much, I want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
23
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We are overlanding from Argentina to Alaska with our 2 kids and can easily say that Laguna is on the top 10 camping spots on our list. We landed up staying 3 weeks instead of 1. Pepe is a fantastic chef and his hamburgers are the absolute best we have had in over a year! Pillar is very friendly and Mariano is a great guy to get to know. We would definitely return one day and will stay much longer!

Room Tip: We didn't sleep in the rooms but camped instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uetendorf, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Laguna Surf Camp is exactly how a relaxing beach resort should be:
Hammocks to chill out everywhere in the garden, enough shady spots, a brand new swimmingpool and comfy sunchairs in front of your bungalows. The rooms are spotlessly clean, with room service daily. Surf- Kite- and SUP-boards and lessons are available. It's located a few steps from the beach.
Pepe runs a restaurant at the resort with divine food. The place is very cosy, the portions are big and prices are fair. Plus Pepe has an excellent sense of humor! Don't leave without trying at least: best omlette in the world, jucy chicken and pinape salad, huge tasty hamburger (comes with delicious fries), and his famous chocolate cake. Oh and the Mojitos (made by Andrea) are legendary! Eating in Pepes restaurant, even if you don't stay in the resort, is an absolut MUST!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I came here from Cuenca on a long bus ride! We were tired and looking for a cheap place to stay with some fellow travelers.

During that week-end nothing was cheap in town due to it being the national holiday, so we made our way in order to look for different place to stay. We arrived at this place and it was surprisingly cheap compared to the rest, we were told they only had two beds when we were three! That for them was not problem, they found another one and added it to the dorm for us.

The room were nice! the crowd staying there was very friendly and a lot of people enjoyed the hammocks to stay in for relaxation! Also it is possible to sleep really peacefully due to the fact that it is not in town itself!

The place has a solid restaurant that maybe was a little more pricey than the rest of town but it was so worth it! I really enjoyed the food and the music that was played there!

One of the only problem with the place was the swimming pool, it had been built but was still empty while I was there! However, I am sure that this will be resolved soon!

Room Tip: the rooms near the reception have WiFi in the room, the rooms in the back are incredibly peaceful th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived at Laguna Surf Camp tired and hungry after travelling 19 hours on a bus from Otavalo in Equador. We were greeted by Pepe, Laguna's chef extraordinaire, and shown to a gorgeous little bungalow - without even asking the price we said yes! Pepe cooked us dinner and made us feel right at home. Although it was a bit out of our initial price range we fell in love with the very relaxed & tranquil atmosphere, the great food and Laguna's location to the beach - 5 mins to town and yet all you could hear was the ocean. It was a secluded little haven with hammocks set in a pretty little garden. We quickly became friends with Pepe, who is an absolute gem of a man and not a bad chef either! Pepe looked after us and helped make our trip to Mancora very memorable - we loved it so much we stayed for 7 days!! Pilar, the gorgeous surfy chick owner is so easy going and offers one on one surf lessons and a lovely safe haven to relax and unwind in. If I ever return to Mancora this is the place I would stay, we were very sad to leave. Thank you Pepe & Pilar for helping make our final days in Peru so enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetteren, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Laguna Surf Camp is probably not the cheapest option in Mancora but has very good quality for its price. It's located a 5 minutes walk from the centre so you don't suffer from the noice at night. We stayed in a spacious cabaña with a very nice bathroom, all very clean. We had some kind of a front porch with 2 chairs and a table to relax in the sun. If you prefer a hammock you can take on in the huge garden. The staff was very nice and helpful. There is a restaurant connected to the hostel which serves very good breakfast (not included in the price).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We loved staying here. The food was AMAZING, we were obsessed with the hamburgers and scrambled eggs for breakfast. :)
We had our own bungalow which was nice. it is close to the beach and we could hear the waves at night.
We would definitely stay here again, and were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Surf Camp

Address: Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Surf Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.