We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what its hyped up to be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Loki del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Loki del Mar to your Saves list
Loki del Mar
Avenida Piura 262, Mancora, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what its hyped up to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Short & sweet:
Good pool, clean rooms, has so much potential.
On the other hand, horrific wifi, worst breakfast we've had at any loki chain (stayed in cusco and La Paz) it's meant to be a party hostel and they play the worst music at night time, like ac/dc & try and get everyone to play games like beer pong. BORING. Just wasn't what we expected. We had friends who stayed here 3 years ago and couldn't leave where as we can't wait to leave! The staff stuffed up our food orders every day.

The place itself is awesome, pool rooms etc but it's boring & definitely not the Mancora experience we had been told about!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    103
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
3
33
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great hostel located right on the beach. The food is great like in all Loki hostels and the entertainment is fun.
Do not stay here if you want a traditional Peruvian experience as it is laden with foreigners. Great fun if you are travelling with friends or as a large group!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The Loki experience in mancorra was fantastic! The real highlight for me were the bar staff who were amazingly friendly and helpful and got everyone involves in party times!!!! Rooms were cleaned and beds made everyday and location could not have been better - literally on the beach!!! We ate at the hostel most nights because it was Yum and great value... Fun activities organized all day every day and happy hour twice a day was awesome!!!! Xx no complaints except shower was very average.. But had so much fun really didn't care!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's huge, has a huge pool, right by the beach. Great big bar, pool table, table tennis, loads of other activities. The rooms are all you need, decent size lockers with plugs inside. Fun loving staff, wifi, PC's. Awesome hammocks to chill out, big beds for sunbathing. Great for a stop off between Lima and Ecuador.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSION: Looks like a holiday resort with a pool, right next to the beach and in the centre of all food places / shops etc.

STAFF: Normally staff at Loki are nice and thats it. But here the staff are amazing. They join in with guests and sit and chat and we were welcomed by such a friendly lady - I couldnt have asked for anything different!

DORMS: Big dorms, lots of space. Not particularly bright (the ensuite bathroom was navy blue) but the view we had from our balcony made up for that 100 times over!

BREAKFAST/FOOD: Nice bread, hot drinks and jam are served for free but they also do breakfasts to buy which are really nice - especially the waffles! And its cheap :)
The menu set out after dinner had some really nice food on....you will never need to leave the hostel :P

INTERNET: Wifi is available in the reception and bar but not in the dorms. There were 5 computers working whilst we were there for people to use, although occasionally the net was a tad slow (but hey, this is South America!)

OTHER; Be careful of the alcohol slushies - they taste great and before you are aware, youre drunk! However this may be a good thing as the beach front stalls are incredibly noisy (like shake the bed noisy, no joke) and you definately will need good earplugs if not drunk!!!

Would you stay again? I wish we could come back now!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I am still undecided whether or not I like this hostel. By all means I like to party, but every night of the week gets a little overbearing on vacation.

I enjoyed their food and drinks, but everything on their menu wasn't always available and seeing as it's the only place I ate, I think I caught a stomach bug from the food.

I met a lot of fun people while there and the hostel is a short walk or quick mototaxi ride from everything.

Noise levels varied in the room depending on the rotation of guests, but that is outside the control of the hostel. Cleaning ladies do a good enough job, but sand and dirt are still to be found on the floors and other people's hair is still to be found in the beds.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

At first this hostel looks like a hotel and the rooms do not disappoint! If you want a quiet nights sleep I wouldn't recommend staying here; the rooms are not positioned far enough away from the bar for this. I spent Halloween and their 4th anniversary party here and it was a great week. So many fun activities were organised. The pool is great to relax during the day recovering from your hangover from the night before, and the beach is literally meters away. Staff were amazing as is the usual Loki standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loki del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loki del Mar

Address: Avenida Piura 262, Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Loki del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loki del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.