We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach front location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotelier to your Saves list
Hotelier
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Playa las Pocitas, 300 metros Sur Muelle | Km 1217.4 Antigua Panamericana Norte, Mancora, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Mancora
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice beach front location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We saw commentaries of people who stayed there so my husband and I decided making reservations at Hotelier due to competitive prices vs. kind of offered family rooms.

We arrived at Piura Airport by 11 am. We took a Servitour taxi at the airport exit which cost around USD 90.00 for the whole trip to our family (2 adults and 2 children), and after 2.5 hours trip we got to Mancora.

Hotel was exactly as shown in photographs, simple but cozy. Our room was prepared as expected and entered in. My husband and I were surprised when saw that room was carefully decorated with some rustic details which made it very comfortable. We took the family room which was made of two rooms: principal (king-size bed) and secondary (bunk bed) and a share bathroom; air conditioner only in the principal room. Cleaning of rooms was just enough; however people of the hotel must improve bathroom cleaning especially to eliminate odors typical of the bathroom which are intensified in high-temperature weathers.

View from our room was nice and covered swimming pool and beach. There was a hammock on the terrace where you could lay down hearing the music of the waves. Be careful to put repellent to keep mosquitoes from biting you, especially in the afternoon and at night.

Pool was OK, not very large but ideal for children to play safety. The strength of the hotel is its location facing the beach. Beach is only at 10 steps from swimming pool! No large stairs to get there! I could realize in my walking through the beach that there is the only hotel that had it; most hotels had several stairs to finally reach the beach. Beach towel service is provided by hotel.

Food is good, acceptable price, but do not expect to get served a lot... Breakfast is included at the room price, it was quite simple: a juice, two breads, butter, jam, and tea or coffee. We must order some extras to be filled. Flavors were very good a mix between homemade and chef food.
Town is near to hotel, you need to take the typical local transportation: motorcycle taxis.

In general terms, I consider that Hotelier is a good affordable option.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    51
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
84
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We visited Hotelier during Semana Santa (in Peru this means it's busy everywhere). Nonetheless, at Hotelier we found a very friendly and happy staff, actually providing a great service despite the Hotel was full. Food was simply amazing and not any more expensive than what you can find in the town itself. The location is also great since you're away from all the hustle at the main beach, but close enough to walk there within 10-15 minutes. We stayed at a suite in the 3rd floor. It had a tub, minibar, A/C, TV, DVD, beautiful paintings, the bathroom was a bit small but spotless. The view was amazing and all the rooms have hammocks too, so you get to relax from your own place. At night, the garden sculpures by the pool are light up and dinner at Donde Teresa (hotel restaurant) is a must. We recomend the 'causa a dos tiempos' and the 'atun sellado', exquisite.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Perfect? Really? Well, yes. It had all I want in a Hotel and had none of what I don't like in a hotel. So, yes. Perfect.

Excellent food: the owner is a great chef. His mother, for whom the restaurant <Donde Teresa> is named, is the Julia Childs of Peru. He is also an accomplished artist and created most of the designs and artwork inside and out at the hotel and restaurant. The charming seaside restaurant is committed to creatively preparing the freshest ingredients, usually seafood brought in that day from local fishermen. Everything we had was prepared flawlessly and simply, letting the high quality flavors shine through.
Excellent location: not in town, but very close. It was an easy walk and an easier mototaxi ride, the standard price of which is 3 Soles to anywhere in town. The beach here is clean and beautiful, mostly deserted at this time of year (March), and the water was spectacular.
Excellent Staff: The ideal combination of attentive and non-intrusive. Our room was always clean though we never saw anyone clean it, our needs always met, and our meals and drinks were always prepared well. They were there when we needed them and they were not hanging over us when we did not need them. It truly seemed that our happiness as guests was the most important thing at all times. Also, they gave great recommendations about activities and helped us make arrangements.
Excellent Room: We stayed in one of the standard rooms and, again, it was everything we needed and nothing more, with the exception of the TV, which remained unplugged the entire time. I can watch TV at home. But I know many people want that, so I don't care if it's there. The AC worked well, but was not needed much during our stay in March. The balcony was where I spent much time and with a location like this, there isn't much need to stay in the room unless you're sleeping. (Of course, I was traveling with a friend, not my spouse.) The bathroom was spacious, but not cavernous and the water was as hot as you needed it to be.
So, yes, this place was perfect for me. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, stay on the ground floor. If you want a more spacious room, stay in one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

I'm still here, so possibly I will expand on this later. This place is friendly, away from the hustle of the main beach, and the food is fantastic. They are frying a whole, fresh fish as we speak for my friends 40th birthday. Thank you Javier and family!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My elderly parents and I stayed at the Hotelier during 10 days this March. It was a leap of faith, as I researched a number of hotels in the region whilst still in London and this one seemed to be the most suitable to our needs. We were not disappointed, despite initial glitches with the air conditioning which were subsequently resolved.

The hotel is located in a secluded, peaceful area where the only sound you can hear is that of the ocean. The room was airy, spacious and clean with an amazing view and the beach just steps away. The beds were really comfortable and the king size bed was so big I could have put two sets of parents in there! There were thoughtful details like a place where you could dry your clothes in the bathroom, although it could have gone a little bit further by providing a hairdryer and glasses in the bathroom for the toothbrushes and toothpaste. The latter were provided as soon as we requested them.

The menu was well structured and had the right amount of dishes, although it would have been nicer to have more variety of fish on the menu instead of relying heavily on tuna since it is a fishing region particularly known for its variety of fish and seafood. Pour ceux qui aiment la gastronomie, vous allez déguster des plats avec un petit quelque chose de plus que vous ne trouverez nulle part.

A special mention goes to: (1) Cesar who was always very attentive and helpful sorting out transport and providing useful information and assistance; (2) Elsa who served us breakfast every morning with a big smile and who was always very cheerful; (3) Cristina the chef who prepared the wonderful food we had.

All in all the staff were very professional and were not intrusive. They were there when you needed them and let you be when you wanted to relax at leisure.

There was only one issue that clouded our otherwise perfect stay. On our last day, a group of three families with small children arrived who completely took over the place by being loud and disruptive. We did not mind the children, children are children after all. The problem was the adults who let them ran amok around the place without any supervision. To add insult to injury, it was the adults who stayed on drinking and being loud in one of the rooms until the very early hours of the morning with complete and utter disregard for the other guests.

We have the following recommedations too:

- Hooks in the bathroom for hand towels and towels would not go amiss
- A hairdryer
- Glasses for the toothbrush and toothpaste
- A couple of chairs in the bedroom would be useful when you don’t want to watch the telly sitting on the bed

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this Hotel in Mancora in playa Las Pocitas. It is a 1 hour and a half drive from Tumbes airport and it is 5 minutes apart from Mancora center.
We traveled with our 2 year old son and he had a blast as we did. The room has A/C (a must!) and has enough space for the three of us. It was right in front of the beach, the hotel is very little but it's enought to relax and have a nice time.
The pool is great, always clean, the only con is that you don't have anywhere to lay beside it. There are only chairs and the restaurant. If you want to get a tan you should go to the beach. The food is really good and the restaurant is open all day long. The staff is friendly but just the neccesary.
I have to mention that I forgot a bikini and some shampoos in the room and they sent it to me to the other hotel I was staying in. That's value service!

Room Tip: It is a boutique hotel so every room is different! We stayed at 101 and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful, great location. Right on the beach.
Hotel was clean and rooms spacious with ocean view.
Hotel is at Máncora beach, almost 2:30 hours from Piura City by cars, or 1:30 hour from Tumbes city. Piura City is located in nortwest Peru.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelier

Address: Playa las Pocitas, 300 metros Sur Muelle | Km 1217.4 Antigua Panamericana Norte, Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mancora
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotelier 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel with a difference, Hotellier sits like a landmark on the gorgeous las Politas beach, just two minutes form Mancora. The location was hand selected by Javier, an artist who has lived on this stretch of beach for over 30 years, and features a backdrop of sandstone cliffs and an excellent ocean view of the calm beach protected from the wind. Javier and his team are passionate about ensuring the comfort and enjoyment of their customers, who rave about the friendly, attentive service at Hotelier and the attention to detail in every element of the artistic hotel. All eight suites feature ocean view balconies, split air-conditioners, King-Size beds, pima linens, feather pillows, blackout curtains, hot and cold water, cable TV/DVD and art by Javier himself. The hotel also houses Donde Teresa – a gourmet destination, praised in food magazines – named for Teresa Ocampo. Teresa, frequently called the Julia Child of Peru, is a culinary pioneer who has sold over 300,000 cookbooks and whose legacy is carried on at Donde Teresa. Inspired by tradition, but always contemporary, the meals at Donde Teresa are always a highlight of guests at Hotelier. As a diver, Javier brings the best of the ocean to the table and you can be sure to enjoy the freshest seafood at Donde Teresa. Mancora, and Las Pocitas in particular, is blessed with year round sunny weather, from 70-90F, low humidity and a great sea breeze. Las pocitas is a relaxing beach, great for walks, swimming, snorkeling, horseriding or just lazing around and listening to the waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelier Hotel Mancora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.