We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great estancia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puesto Viejo Estancia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Puesto Viejo Estancia to your Saves list
Puesto Viejo Estancia
Ruta Nacional No. 6, Canuelas 1814, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great estancia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Puesto Viejo was one stop on my trip through Argentina and I have to say, that I do not regret it at all visiting this great estancia near buenos aires.
from the beginning I made just good experiences, beginning from the booking, arrival and throughout my whole stay. The staff is just amazing and they try to do their best fulfilling all your needs.
It is a quite place where you are able to relax, have a nice accommodation and full-board service, which is very tastefull.
The polo-lessons with Gaston have been a quite funny experience for me, as I do horse-riding since I'm little. You are able to go riding whenever you want to, which is a big advantage on this estancia.
All in all - I am happy that I've choosen Puesto Viejo for my Argentina trip and would do it again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations here! I'm truly sorry for the delayed response. We were a bit tied up with polo season. Thank you again, and thank you for choosing Puesto Viejo Estancia & Polo Club! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
36
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I went to three different estancias during my time in Argentina and this was my favorite. They are near the international airport so it makes sense to stop by on your way in or out of Buenos Aires. The property is huge and beautiful and the polo fields are within walking distance from the hotel area and we were able to watch a couple games. The guest rooms were recently redone and had wonderful private bathrooms and comfortable beds. They were clean and well decorated and quiet.
Everyone speaks English and is very friendly. The food was great. I requested a traditional asado and they were more than accommodating
The rates were the cheapest of the three estancias I went to and the place was the nicest!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your incredible review! We are very delighted to hear that we were your favourite estancia and the cheapest of the three! We hope you will come again and enjoy more polo, great food and even better company with you there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I enjoyed 4 nights at Puesto Viejo, with 2 polo lessons per day from the very patient and good-natured polo pro Gaston. The lessons were fun and challenging; they certainly gave me a new appreciation for the real pros playing this hugely demanding and dynamic game. The polo school ponies are impeccably trained and a joy to ride. A slight warning...be prepared to use and feel muscles you never knew you had! The property itself is beautiful with lush expansive grounds and very comfortable and private rooms. There is a friendly, laidback atmosphere and the group meals (which were all very good) are a nice way to meet new people. I was lucky to be there during a tournament so that you could also admire real play daily but there are matches every week just check for the days.
I would recommend staying a couple of nights to really soak up the essence of it.

(a small side note: being Dutch I did comment on the horrible state of their bikes; but that should be taken care of by now....)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Guest Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Esther, thank you for your kind words! It was great having you here. Just wanted to say that you were right about the bikes and we have ordered new ones to be delivered shortly. Thanks for the feedback!
Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After the 13+ hour flights into Buenos Aires, I was so delighted to arrive at this polo estancia. The hostess warm and welcoming, the rooms lovely and spotless, the food prepared with care and full of vegetables... My experience there was too brief. We enjoyed watching expert riders play sets of polo daily, did some riding ourselves, and simply rested listening and watching the wide variety of birds. Wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Guest Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Janna, thank you for your kind comments! We enjoyed having you here very much and thank you SO much for the beautiful bird book you sent us! What a great gift for future guests to enjoy. Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay Puesto Viejo during a weeks holiday in Argentina. I could not recommend this estancia highly enough. It is located in beautiful setting less than an hour from BA. The staff Eirin, Morgan and Rhett could not have been friendlier and more helpful. There was horse riding, polo games and walks in the beautiful countryside to keep you busy during the day. They cater for all levels of riders from beginners to experts, polo lessons are also available.

In the evening the owner Jeremy and his wife Lilliana dined with with the guests. They and the other guests mixed easily adding to a great ambience. The food and rooms also top notch. Overall our stay at Puesto Viejo was the highlight of our first visit to South America. Thanks to Jeremy and the team for making our stay so good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at Puesto Viejo. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went to Puesto Viejo for a polo day and opted to spend the night. Probably the best decision we made on our whole trip. The room was beautiful and comfortable, and everyone was incredibly friendly. We had our polo lessons and mini match with Gaston, who is a great teacher and just a fun person in general. Puesto Viejo has been the highlight of our five weeks in Argentina. I want to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
We are excited to hear that staying at Puesto Viejo was the highlight of your trip! Thank you for such a spectacular review! We hope that we will see you again when you return to Argentina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This beautiful establishment serves the needs of the serious polo player in need of teaching, training and playing. The consistently high TA scores are fully justified but it's a far greater bonus for those polo players seeking the ideal polo estancia is that Puesto Viejo is first and foremost, a thriving polo club and second, a warm and inviting estancia. I had the great fortune to practice daily with a 6 goal player and then participate in club chukkers each afternoon.
The estancia is warm and inviting and run by the wonderful Jeremy and Liliana with humour, charm and kindness.
Beware the rooster!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for such a charming review! It's exciting to hear your opinion. Please feel welcome to come back to Puesto Viejo for more polo practice! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puesto Viejo Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puesto Viejo Estancia

Address: Ruta Nacional No. 6, Canuelas 1814, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Canuelas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Canuelas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puesto Viejo Estancia Argentina is a 240 acre estancia located an hour from Buenos Aires city and 30 minutes from Ezeiza International Airport. The Estancia offers a boutique hotel, polo club, and a club house used for events. It is the perfect place to experience the Argentine countryside at its very best. Whether it be a relaxing estancia holiday surrounded by nature, an active polo holiday under the instruction of professional players, or simply a daytime experience enjoying a traditional asado in a stunning setting, there are a wide range of options available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Puesto Viejo Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puesto Viejo Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.