We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful retreat, minutes from downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Las Cupulas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Las Cupulas to your Saves list
Hostal Las Cupulas
Iturbide No 213-A, San Felipe del Agua 68020, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat, minutes from downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Raintree Las Cupulas is a terrific find for travelers who are looking for a charming and immaculate place to sleep, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated with Oaxacan flair. There is a lovely rooftop deck with pretty views of the mountains. The Zocalo is a short, 7 mile bus ride away. The bus stop is on the corner and for 6 pesos, it's an inexpensive way to get to town. In comparison, a cab ride is 50 pesos. Even though the hotel is far from the city center, we found that after a day of shopping and sightseeing, it was nice to get away from the traffic and noise. There is no café on the property but around the corner, is the upscale hotel, Los Laureles. The setting is gorgeous and the food is amazing. The staff at Raintree Las Cupulas is terrific, helpful and friendly. If you take any tours, make sure to go with Jose Maria who works with the hotel. He is knowledgeable, prompt and personable. As a bonus, his van is spotless and his client's safety and comfort always come first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just spent a nice peaceful week at this small hostel thru our timeshare, Raintree. Only one staff member spoke English but were very friendly. A chef came to cook breakfast around 8:00 a.m., you got coffee, a fruit plate and an omelet for 65 pesos. You are allowed to use the pool at a neighbor hostel. We took 3 day tours with Jose and enjoyed the country side and culture, although tours got too large and too long in the day. Our room was comfortable, bed good and room did not smell musty like some in Mexico. I would stay here again. Not many restaurants in neighborhood. The markets in Oaxaca City are great for prices and a variety of items, good buys, our suitcases are stuffed.

Room Tip: we had a room with a cupulas, which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

A Raintree timeshare resort that rents extra days to non-timeshare folks, this was a very reasonable option in what can be an expensive Oaxaca tourist area. $89 per night for a two double-bed room with separate bathroom with shower. Water pressure in shower good, with plenty of hot water available throughout the day/evening. Very clean rooms and linens, hair dryer, shampoo/conditioner/soap, television, phone, ceiling fans and wall-mounted a/c. Water not potable, but housekeeping provides two bottles of bottled water daily. (There are markets within a block or two where you can buy additional water as needed.) There is a small cafe on site that provides breakfast Sunday through Friday, with items from pancakes to egg dishes, chilaquiles, etc., but there is no meal service available for lunch or dinner any day of the week. There are a couple of restaurants nearby, a small local inexpensive place three blocks away, or a fairly expensive restaurant at the Los Laurelos hotel facility three or four blocks away. There is a nice area on the top floor of the facility where you can sit and visit and catch a good glimpse of the surrounding area. There were noisy dogs in the area, but they usually quieted down by bedtime. You can get a taxi to the airport from this location for 150 pesos, or a more comfortable van for about 360 pesos. The best deal is that you are only one block from the bus line, which for 5.5 pesos you can get from the city of San Felipe Del Agua to anywhere in downtown Oaxaca in about 20 minutes. There is internet access and a PC on site and printing of boarding passes is free. The staff is wonderful, most speak at least passable English, and they have access to local tour guides (try Sr. Juan Barenna) if that is of interest. Overall a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Most rooms are quiet, best on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Hostal las Cupulas was most of what it was advertised. Beautiful, out of the way and slightly expensive. The staff was kind and welcoming, but not greatly helpful or accurate on their recommendations. Additionally, the information packet that we were given by the hotel contained so many errors that it rendered the information basically useless.

Breakfast at the hotel cafe was tasty, cheap and filling, a gem not advertised well pre-arrival. The photos on the Raintree website for the hotel imply a view not really enjoyed by the hotel, plan to look onto the courtyard or neighborhood buildings - not a breathtaking mountain view. Transportation into the city is easily achieved by a 5.50 peso bus ride or a 50 peso cab ride.

As a Spanish speaker, I found it easier to get around the neighborhood and work with the hotel staff. However some of the English only speaking guests I noticed were having some trouble, and were frustrated by the wrong information given them. The tours that can be arranged with Jose Maria were exceptional for their bilingual accessibility. He's a real gem.

All in all, the stay was uneventful and the rooms great (other than the nightly non-stop chorus of dogs... out of the hotel's element of control). I enjoyed my stay but would recommend that most people stay closer to the action unless seeking a get-away from the city at the end of each day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

My friend and I came to Las Cupulas through a timeshare trade. When we arrived on Saturday evening we were taken to our room, and although we had emailed three times stating and confirming that we needed a room with two beds, we were shown a room with one king. We explained that this would not work for us, and the manager, Rafael came to the hotel and took us to another hotel that had two beds for us. The next day we left early and our bags were moved back to Las Cupulas and placed in a room with two beds. Rafael himself drove us to the other hotel and was very apologetic. What could have been an uncomfortable situation, was made right by the manager.

Las Cupulas is spotless. The rooms are spacious. The staff did everything to make our stay comfortable (they were all incredible) and provided us with everything we needed. The staff spoke excellent English. Orlando especially was wonderful and saw to our every need.

We were given a recommendation for tours. Rodolfo Juarez from Jade was tops. He accommodated us by customizing our tours to fit our needs. He speaks perfect English, knows the area to recommend half or full days tours, and is quite handsome too! We would highly recommend his services for tours.

Las Cupulas is off the beaten path. It is located in the residential neighborhood, so it is nice and quiet. There is a city bus (4.50 pesos) that stops a half block away to take you into town, or you can get a taxi (40 pesos) to take you to or from town.

Las Cupulas was a great experience and I highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Las Cupulas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Cupulas

Address: Iturbide No 213-A, San Felipe del Agua 68020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > San Felipe del Agua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Felipe del Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Las Cupulas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Cupulas San Felipe Del Agua, Oaxaca, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Las Cupulas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.