We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the sand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn to your Saves list
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A3 Ocean Blvd | PO Box 1043, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates start at $100
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luquillo
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gem in the sand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel was pleasant, quiet and very clean. The staff is uber friendly and went out of their way to make my family's stay a wonderful expirience. The coqui room was private, quiet and very spacious. They did not have wifi in my room, but they did access area to louge in the upper patios. The area was not urban or modern, but the beach was wonderful. The beach is littearly across the street. I highly recomand this hotel, I am already planning the next vacation there.

Room Tip: I recomend the coqui room it is quiet, and has it's own private entrance :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    149
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
109
314
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The sunrises were just as beautiful as promised, and sunset along the beach was lovely as well. Staff was super helpful and the breakfasts were absolutely fantastic. The location was a great base of operations for seeing more of the region. Definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

At best this is a Motel Six plus - room ok, clean but only one set of towels per person - need some minor repairs - breakfast was not as billed - usual 2 star type coffee & pastries - hot breakfast, waited 30 min for french toast on a stick! Let's be frank, this is a 2 star,maybe 3 star hotel in the middle of a working class neighborhood, cross the street from the public beach. Weekends & holidays - crowds, noise, everyone having a good time - hope you are too! Our standard is the white sand beaches of Destin, SeaSide and Gulf Shores - this beaches at Luquillo are brown sand, lots of seaweed, trash and not pretty at all! Two long days! Thankfully we found this great little bar and grill just own the street.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We wanted a place a bit off the beaten path, and ended up in Luquillo. Upon check-in, the staff was so welcoming and told us all about the hotel and nearby beaches and attractions. There are a handful of restaurants and bars within walking distance, but Luquillo itself is a vary small area with not a lot going on. The people who live there seem to absolutely love it, and if you're looking for a remote area to just chill and relax in the peace and quiet of a sleepy beach town, definitely come here. If you want more action, you may want to look elsewhere.

The rooms were very clean, and we stayed in a standard room with an ocean view balcony. The bed was comfortable and there was a chair, small desk, fridge, closet and simple bathroom. The breakfast is served on a covered patio and is just great! Big assortment of fruits, cereals, baked goods, and then a hot dish which changes each morning. We had blueberry pancakes our first morning, and eggs an potatoes the next.

The staff will give you umbrellas if needed, as well as beach chairs, towels and beach umbrellas. They have everything you need if you want to rent from them too - snorkeling gear, boogie boards, etc.

Overall we had a wonderful experience here and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for the first two nights of our week-long Puerto Rico trip. The room has a mini-fridge and microwave, satellite TV, balcony and air conditioning (making sleeping very comfortable). The room was clean, and bed was comfortable.
The staff were great! Everyone we met was very accommodating, helpful and cheery.
Morning breakfast was satisfactory, and was a great time to meet other travelers and get their advice on things to do.

I will say that Luquillo is nothing special, and the hotel is across a street from a beach, which you can't really swim in. There is no "beach" per say, unless you walk at least a half a mile.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

There are great things about this place, from friendly staff to great service; from an ideal location to a fantastic value for its category. We went to rest and rest we did.

Great job everyone! You are working towards the change in the puertorrican hotel industry.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

At check in, we were given multiple maps and discriptions of area attractions by someone that obviously loves the area and the Inn. The neighborhood seemed a little rough, but we didn't feel uncomfortable after getting to the Inn. The cleaning crew does a stellar job and being a tile guy, I was impressed with the effort made to dress up the tile in the room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Address: A3 Ocean Blvd | PO Box 1043, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn offers an exceptional value for budget minded travelers. This Bed & Breakfast is located on a stretch of Puerto Rico's famous Luquillo Beach where surfers can often be seen riding the waves. Luquillo Sunrise Beach inn is also only 45 minutes from San Juan International Airport, and just minutes away from Fajardo, where guests can find a multitude of water sports available. All of our rooms feature balconies facing the ocean where our guests can enjoy the fresh tradewind breeze and sound of the surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Hotel Luquillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.