We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A3 Ocean Blvd | PO Box 1043, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 6 nights pay for 5 !
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Luquillo
center harbor
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great winter retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As part of our vacation arriving from Vieques, this was a perfect wind down from a fantastic week. We picked this Inn due to the location overlooking the ocean and the closeness to El Yunque where we also spent time. We had a second floor deluxe room, very accommodating, clean and nicely furnished. The Only minor issue was the platform bed with a not so good mattress, matter of fact when we were checking out the manager asked us bluntly about this issue as she had a note from another guest. She did mention this particular room was due for replacement. So, great breakfast included, afternoon snacks available, wifi, beach towells, and very friendly staff make this Inn a place we would recommend and hope we can return.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    136
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
100
293
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

For us islanders who need to go to the main island for shopping....It is always great to stay at a hotel/Inn where the rooms are clean and comfortable, where the view is spectacular, where getting to excellent restaurants is as easy as a short walk, where parking is safe and secure, and where the cost does not make the shopping trip not worth the time and stay. This Inn has all this and more. The staff remembers us by name and they have all been there for as long as we have been going there, they even ask about my parents!! They include a breakfast...that is not just a continental!! It is cooked to order! I actually feel comfortable going there in my "jammies" hanging out watching the surfers, joggers, walkers while I have my coffee. Opening my eyes and seeing the sun coming up over the horizon is just great! (and I have an ocean view at home). They make a crazy day of shopping and packing our car with purchases a mini vacation!! AND if you like to walk on the beach, park your butt on the beach and read, sit and drink a glass of wine....it is RIGHT across the street....AND they have beach towels, chairs, umbrellas...and wine. I am saying!! park your car and relax...even if it is only until the morning ferry.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Most face the ocean. There are even multiple bedroom accommodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here on our vacation and loved the place. Te rooms were basic but very clean. The view of the ocean was spectacular! It was lovely to sip our wine at night and drink our coffee in the morning with the sound of the waves and the view of the shoreline. It was perfect to walk out of your hotel and swim. The breakfast was fabulous. One of the best aspects of this hotel was the owner. She was so informative on PR. Gave us great tips and restaurant advice. Tere is no swimming pool or hottub but who needs that when you have the ocean! The location was also perfect, not too far from san juan, fahardo and el yunke.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn for four nights in January - our second stay there. We returned because of the value priced and clean accommodations and the friendly staff that goes out of its way to make your stay comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious and filling - we only needed a small snack and then dinner for the remainder of the day. We again appreciated the use of beach towels and beach chairs and recommendations for restaurants provided by staff. Yes, there are some vacated properties in the area, but with both our stays the locals were friendly and helpful. We walked along the streets at night and never were concerned. We are already working out our dates to return in 2014. This setting - across a small street from the ocean is a bargain. We have stayed at $300 a night places on the island of Puerto Rico but Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn is our favorite!

Room Tip: Pay the small extra charge for the extended balcony and in-room wireless
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

First, I have to admit that the area around the hotel can seem a little sketchy if you aren't used to the area. There are some abandoned, burned out buildings nearby which can be a little scary and make you wonder about the safety of the neighborhood. BUT the hotel is beautiful, the parking is enclosed in a gated area that you have to have a garage opener given to you from hotel staff to get in and out of. The staff was AMAZINGLY friendly and super knowledgeable and helpful about the area and made a lot of suggestions about things to do and see in the area. There is an outdoor shower area which is nice if you come off the beach, you don't have to go back up to your room and clean off you can just rinse and go. We had a little deck facing Luquillo beach which resulted in beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The room stayed really cold (I know some other people noted this in their reviews as well). There is a Walgreens, a grocery store and some restaurants really close by. The breakfast here was soooo good. Fresh fruits, juices and pastries and an area to make your own pancakes and such. All this was free and if you wanted anything cooked like eggs and such you had to pay. We stuck with free and it was definitely good enough. There is a cute little dining area facing the beach with tables and chairs to eat at and hammock chairs. There is also a little room with lots of info about the area and maps. And again, the staff was so friendly and kind. Great, safe, pretty and convenient stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed the local dining and excursions recommended by the staff, as well as the home-cooked breakfasts on the ocean-view deck. The hotel is located in a great spot for long beach walks and hiking in El Yunque National Park. The room was comfortable and we loved the sea air and sound of waves from the balcony at night. The town looked economically depressed but felt safe, and the hole-in-the-wall restaurants in town had outstanding food (we skipped the kiosks and were glad we did). Check out the journals with guest comments that they keep in the breakfast room. Plan your trip for the dark of the moon to go on a kayak trip to the nearby bioluminescent lagoon - fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had a little trouble finding the place, but from the moment you get there everyone on the staff is really great. At check in they outlined everything in the area for me. Maps to the good beaches, directions to get to El Yunque, maps of the trails at El Yunque, and a description of every restaurant in the area worth visiting. All of this was offered without even having to ask, along with beach towels and anything else you might need during your stay. The staff that did the breakfast in the morning were even nicer and more helpful. I felt very welcome the whole time. My only real concern was that at the price level I thought it would have been nice to be able to access the wireless in the rooms without having to go to the common area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Also Known As:
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Hotel
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Hotel Luquillo
Address: A3 Ocean Blvd | PO Box 1043, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn offers an exceptional value for budget minded travelers. This Bed & Breakfast is located on a stretch of Puerto Rico's famous Luquillo Beach where surfers can often be seen riding the waves. Luquillo Sunrise Beach inn is also only 45 minutes from San Juan International Airport, and just minutes away from Fajardo, where guests can find a multitude of water sports available. All of our rooms feature balconies facing the ocean where our guests can enjoy the fresh tradewind breeze and sound of the surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.