We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn to your Saves list
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A3 Ocean Blvd | PO Box 1043, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 6 nights pay for 5 !
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luquillo
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

You'll find great service and post card views here!
We stopped by on our way from San Juan to Cieba 5 days prior to our stay and they helped us with directions to the airport and places to eat once in Luquillo.
The upper deck area has a couple of hammocks and tables and chairs for relaxing by yourself or with a group. Breakfast is served there as well, at I would say it is above average for a hotel breakfast. Breads, cereals and fresh fruit. There were also yummy sandwiches to order.
The beach is litterally across the street, and while the surf was too choppy for this girl to enjoy, it was great to open up the sliding glass door at night and fall asleep to the ocean waves!
I loved the location and the front desk helped with recommending some wonderful restaurants. The most notable being Pasta y Pueblo, which is right next door.
I found the hospitality in Luquillo to be better than the rest of Puerto Rico, and the Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn fit right in line with that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    146
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
109
312
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

For those who prefer a local feel rather than a destination resort, this is perfect. Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn sits on a beautiful beach where the surfers love to play. With a large upper "common" deck area you can enjoy the breeze and view while you sip your evening beverage or morning coffee. The beach stretches for miles eventually ending at a food "kiosk" area where you can enjoy an assortment of dishes. At night there were a couple of places to dine within walking distance too. The diversity of rain forest hikes, boating, island flights, shopping in San Juan were short distances from Luquillo.
The staff are cheerful and very attentive. Everything was pristine, clean and comfortable. And, we enjoyed the local pet, a giant iguana!
We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Prior to traveling, I contacted this hotel and they quoted me way too much and since we changed our itinerary, passed on this place.

Good thing! The beach is alright; absolutely nothing to write home about. I walked to the hotel to check it out in person. What a dump! Some of the sliding windows were broken, garbage bags that smelled of vomit were in the entry.

Would not recommend this place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to travelers wanting to go off the beaten path. It is a simple, very clean inn located directly in front of a beautiful beach. The drive from San Juan was so easy. We took the scenic route which took about an hour and a half. We stopped at a few stands along the way to drink coconut water and try fried local eats. They were very accommodating and made suggestions where to eat. We loved Pasta y Pueblo and Rincon de Sabor. The daily breakfast which was included was so convenient! We made a day trip to El Yunque (about 20 minutes away) and to the Kiosks (5 minutes away). Later in our trip we stayed at the Marriott San Juan -honestly, we liked this better! Be careful walking alone at night. According to our cab driver in SJ, Luquillo has a bad reputation for violence. I must say we felt safe and saw nothing threatening. We brought our two children (ages 6 and 7) They loved it and made friends with some very sweet local children. There is a kid friendly beach about 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is one of the best small hotels I have ever visited. It has a super staff, the beaches are beautiful, and everything about the Liquillo Sunrise is casual comfort. We had made other plans, but decided to return to end our Puerto Rico visit at this magical place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The property was very clean the personnel very friendly and accommodating. The location is as close to the beach as you can get. The included breakfast was very good with a different special each morning such as custom omelets, waffles, pancakes or breakfast burritos served on the second floor terrace. There are beach towels and chairs available for guests and they rent boogie boards you can use on the "surfing" beach steps across the street. The surfing beach has significant (for the Caribbean) wave action but calmer water that is good for swimming and snorkeling with some coral formations can be found a couple of minutes walk north. There isn't a pool and the rooms could use fridge but we were very comfortable and the views over the the water are excellent..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Beautiful ocean views from the room balconies, especially of the sunrise (The hotel is aptly named)

Nice continental breakfast. Bonus that the hotel's eating area was a covered patio with a nice breeze and beautiful views of the Atlantic.

Staff were very friendly, knowledgable, and had great recommendations for local restaurants and attractions. (They recommended Pasta y Pueblo, a restaurant right next to the hotel which was our favorite restaurant of the whole trip. Be sure to check it out!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Address: A3 Ocean Blvd | PO Box 1043, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn offers an exceptional value for budget minded travelers. This Bed & Breakfast is located on a stretch of Puerto Rico's famous Luquillo Beach where surfers can often be seen riding the waves. Luquillo Sunrise Beach inn is also only 45 minutes from San Juan International Airport, and just minutes away from Fajardo, where guests can find a multitude of water sports available. All of our rooms feature balconies facing the ocean where our guests can enjoy the fresh tradewind breeze and sound of the surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Hotel Luquillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.